My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Finally… + OPK!

Posted by auntiem10 on April 22, 2010

Today is Cycle Day 19, and all of my peeing-on-a-stick attempts finally paid off. My LH surge has been detected! I had to go with the two-line OPK tests because of the HUGE price difference in digital OPK tests between CVS and Wal-Mart. At Wal-Mart, seven Clearblue Easy OPKs are $21. At CVS, the exact same box was $35! I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to stop at Wal-Mart, so I just bought the cheapie tests.

Now that my LH surge has been detected, I have to schedule an endometrial biopsy 9-11 days from today. I’ll be calling my local RE’s office when they open in an hour. Of course, this window of time is going to fall on a weekend, so hopefully they can fit me in on Monday, May 3. I’m not exactly thrilled at the prospect of having my uterine lining scraped, but I am ready to cross one more thing off the list. Thanks to those who advised me to take some pain reliever beforehand for the cramping. Is there anything else I should know?

This afternoon I also have a physical with a new OBGYN as required by CCRM. I will explain more about that in my next post.

6 Responses to “Finally… + OPK!”

  1. Pie said

    Yay for a positive! I always use the cheapies, I get them in bulk from the internet. Good luck at your appointment today!

    • auntiem10 said

      Ordering in bulk online is a fantastic idea! I’ve never really used opks, honestly. We went straight to an RE when we started TTC, and after IVF #1 resulted in a c/p, I just wanted to wash my hands of tracking my cycles. Thank you for the good luck wishes! : )

  2. LC1 said

    Yay for +OPK! I am still waiting for mine.. I’m on cycle day 14. I think I usually surge around day 16 or so. Hope it comes on time or I will have to reschedule everything- flights, etc. I’ve had an endometrial biopsy…it wasn’t too bad. Definitely take a pain reliever beforehand. It’s painful for a few seconds but then it’s okay. I have my physical/OB appt next week. It feels good to get things checked off the list, huh?

    • auntiem10 said

      Oh no, I hope your LH surge makes an arrival soon so you won’t have to reschedule anything. That would be such a pain! I’m so glad to hear that your endo biopsy wasn’t bad. Hopefully the pain will be worth it! Please keep me updated on your LH surge situation!

  3. sue said

    yay! for moving ahead….i don’t have any advice for the biopsy (i didn’t have to get one), but good luck with the biopsy 🙂

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! I was so excited to cross another thing off the list today (the physical). I would definitely try again on the IVFC board… the Colorado thread has fantastic info about CCRM, and the ladies who post there are very nice!

Leave a Reply

 
