My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Crossing Off the List: Annual Physical

Posted by auntiem10 on April 23, 2010

Yesterday afternoon, I visited a local OB/GYN’s office for my annual physical. This is required by CCRM for the female (but not for the male), and at the One Day Work-Up (ODWU), our nurse gave me two order forms outlining all tests the local doctor needed to perform.

The first form listed everything a doctor would check during a normal physical: height, weight, blood pressure, pulse, lungs, and a pap. The OB also performed a breast exam (I believe a mammogram is required if you are over 35), examined any moles on my back, and looked at the exterior portion of my “lady bits.” : ) She proclaimed me perfectly healthy, gave me a big bag full of pre-natal vitamin samples, wrote me a script for some bloodwork, and sent me on my way. I’ll call a number in the next couple of weeks to hear the results of my pap.

The second form CCRM gave me listed all the non-Cycle Day 3 bloodwork they want. This included hormone levels like Prolactin and a full thyroid panel (because my mom suffers from Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism). I drove to a local lab to have FIVE tubes of blood drawn.

CCRM also gave me a records release form that I completed and gave to the local clinic, authorizing them to fax all results to the far-away clinic. I’m not sure if I will hear the results of the labs from the local clinic or from CCRM. Either way, I was glad to cross this appointment off the list!

Next steps:

  1. Endometrial biopsy is scheduled for May 3rd at 2:30 p.m, performed by a new local RE. Bring on the pain! : )
  2. Cycle Day 2 or 3 bloodwork (like FSH, LH, and estradiol) will be drawn and shipped to CCRM during my next cycle in May.
  3. After those results are in, I’ll have a regroup with Dr. Surrey during which he’ll outline our timeline and protocol.
3 Responses to “Crossing Off the List: Annual Physical”

  1. Rambler said

    Hey Auntie Em!

    How is the baking going? 😉

    I would suggest also getting a set of your medical records history for yourself. That way you can follow along with Dr. Surrey on the phone consult and review all your results. I did this before travling for our ODWU, but of course it didn’t arrive on time and I had to go off memory for a few things. Now I’ve got a copy for myself just for my own benefit.

    • auntiem10 said

      That is a great idea! I have all of my medical records from my IVF cycle, but I need to sit down and think about what I may be missing. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. […] restored when Dr. Surrey told us that he was optimistic for us. We flew home, and I scheduled the additional testing that CCRM required (physical, pap, bloodwork, etc.). Created this blog and continued saving […]

Leave a Reply

 
