My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Endo Biopsy Scheduling Timeline

Posted by auntiem10 on April 28, 2010

On to happier topics today … like my upcoming endometrial biopsy, yay! You know, that diagnostic test during which a local RE is going to scrape the heck out of my endometrium (uterine lining) in order to obtain a tissue sample. Sounds like fun, right? Don’t you wish you could have one too? : )

The endometrial biopsy is performed to detect beta-3 integrins in the endometrium, a glue-like protein produced by the uterus. Research indicates that without this protein, embryos sometimes don’t fully implant during an IVF cycle. The doctors at CCRM only require this test for some of their patients. Some reasons for which your RE may recommend this test are:

  • History of endometriosis
  • Biochemical pregnancy or miscarriage
  • Multiple BFNs after IVF with a diagnosis of “Unexplained”

With my history of stage IV endo and one biochemical pregnancy after IVF #1, Dr. Surrey felt like this test was necessary for me. On May 3rd at 2:30, I’ll be in stirrups, having this test performed by a local RE. It is apparently a pretty painful test, causing cramping and an uncomfortable sensation when the RE has to scrape the tissue. I’ve been told that the pain is a little worse than a hysterosalpingogram (HSG) test.

My Timeline for Scheduling an Endometrial Biopsy:

The following steps were my timeline for scheduling the endometrial biopsy. My hope is that if you are planning to have this test performed, it may help serve as a guideline for you!

1) Obtain orders for the endo biopsy from your nurse at the ODWU, along with instructions on ordering the specimen kit from Sepal Reproductive Devices.

2) Detect your LH surge by using OPKs, starting on Cycle Day 10.

3) Schedule your endometrial biopsy 9-11 days after your LH surge.
FYI… My CCRM nurse said that the first day of the LH surge doesn’t count. For example, because I detected my LH surge on April 22nd, my “window” for the biopsy is from May 1-3.

4) Order the specimen kit by calling Sepal Reproductive Devices. My kit arrived after about five days, and there is no fee for the kit itself. The specimen is shipped to West Coast Pathology Lab in Hercules, CA.

5) Write a check to West Coast Pathology Lab for $475, and include it in your kit.
FYI… there are two procedure codes that Sepal Reproductive Devices can give you so that you can file a claim with your insurance company for reimbursement.

6) Bring the orders CCRM gave you to your appointment, along with the specimen kit. In my case, the lab will ship off the collected specimen for me.

Within the next few weeks, I will post my results and explain CCRM’s recommended treatment for patients lacking beta-3 integrins. Fingers crossed that I will have the protein!

10 Responses to “Endo Biopsy Scheduling Timeline”

  1. Pie said

    Good luck with your test – I really hope you have the protein too! I wouldn’t wish depot lupron on my worst enemy. Yuck!

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! I read on your blog about the hot flashes and ensuing insomnia… I think I will pass, if possible! There is supposedly a link between endo patients and lack of this protein, so I am bracing for the worst but hoping for the best!

  2. Mag said

    Definetly good luck. I had one of those a few weeks ago, and it was not the most pleasant of things!

  3. Cassie said

    I hope the biopsy goes well and that you aren’t lacking the protein. I did this too, and yes, it was quite unpleasant. Be sure to take a bunch of ibuprofen (if not something stronger, like a Valium if you can find one) before you go. And just as a warning, more than scraping, they actually dig in there a little to get a nice chunk. I’m not trying to scare you, just help prepare you. It will be over really fast. Good luck!

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you for the advice! I will definitely take Ibuprofen beforehand. Ugh… this test sounds very unpleasant!

  4. Rambler said

    Gee, that test slip is one they should pass out to everybody.

    I know it will go well, you’ve got some good advice from others who have done it! Schedule a nice manicure or something for yourself the next day as a “god job” treat. 🙂 You totally deserve it after being but through it.

    • auntiem10 said

      That is a good idea! I am definitely taking the rest of the day off and plan to pamper myself for a couple of days! This test does not sound very fun.

Leave a Reply

 
