My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Wacky Thyroid

Posted by auntiem10 on April 30, 2010

Last week after my annual exam, CCRM required me to have five tubes of blood drawn for things like white and red blood cell count, hemoglobin, platelet counts, etc. Additionally, a full thyroid panel was ordered, including the thyroid peroxidase antibody (TPO) test.

Last year my former (local) RE ran the TPO test during a thyroid panel just before starting IVF #1. My mother has Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism, so I requested full testing of my thyroid function because I felt like I was experiencing some of the symptoms. At the time, my TSH was 3.59 (local clinic liked to see a level below 4.0), and my TPO was 753 (normal is <35). Since my TSH was in the normal range, the local RE was against any treatment.

This time around, my TSH = 4.39 and my TPO has risen to 777.3. CCRM likes to see a TSH below 3.0, and the TPO level is obviously very high. Dr. Surrey is supposed to review and decide whether I should see an endocrinologist or if CCRM would just prescribe me medication (Synthroid) to get my thyroid under control. Either way, the nurse said I won’t be allowed to cycle until these levels are under control because the baby would then be at increased risk of thyroid disease.

The high antibody level suggests that my body has decided to start mistakenly attacking normal tissue. This causes inflammation and impaired function to the thyroid. You can read more here.

I am not really shocked at all that my TSH level has gotten a little higher. I have felt fatigued lately, but I blamed it on efforts to eliminate caffeine from my diet. I hope CCRM will prescribe medication that will help my body to feel better.

I am still waiting for CCRM to call me back with a game plan. I know they are very busy, so I am being patient. It is hard to feel just like a number, though, when I received such prompt responses at my local clinic. This is the price we must pay, just like the headaches with the business office. I left my first message about this matter on Tuesday (per my OB’s instructions), and it’s now Friday afternoon and I still haven’t heard anything. Hopefully my next blog entry will contain a plan!

6 Responses to “Wacky Thyroid”

  1. LC1 said

    Ughh! I hope you don’t have to wait long! So frustrating. I am sure you will feel better once your thryoid levels are improved. It made a big difference for me 🙂

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you, and I’m so glad to hear that improving your thyroid levels made a big difference for you! I hope to experience successful results as well. : )

  2. R said

    If you are concerned, I would email your nurse. Things do fall between the cracks at CCRM and you need to be on top of your own care. Just my advice. I hope things work out and that your cycle isn’t pushed too far back.

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! I called and left a voicemail at lunch, asking someone to call me back by the end of the day. I was definitely scared of falling through the cracks, especially b/c I’m not actively cycling. I also hope that this situation doesn’t push our cycle back too much. I just don’t want to have to repeat the ODWU again!

  3. […] 11, 2010 This morning I saw a local endocrinologist for the first time to receive treatment for my high TSH and high TPO antibody levels. A nurse weighed me, took my blood pressure (110/80), listened to my pulse, and recorded a short […]

  4. […] keep me on 50 mcg of Synthroid for the foreseeable future. Yay! They did not recheck my TPO level (which was super-high in April), but apparently they don’t need to since I am now controlling my thyroid function with […]

Leave a Reply

 
