My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Waiting Game

Posted by auntiem10 on May 5, 2010

Right now I’m just waiting for AF. Today is Cycle Day 32. Once it starts, then I can schedule my Cycle Day 3 bloodwork and have it shipped to CCRM. The results will fill in another piece of the puzzle and will lead to a phone regroup with Dr. Surrey during which he will discuss our timeline,  test results, and his recommended protocol.

Every month it seems like my body holds out on AF until I allow myself to start fantasizing about POAS and seeing those glorious two lines. This month, I refuse! We did take advantage of the timing of my LH surge, but I know better than to let my brain start wandering toward the possibility of a surprise BFP. I will not indulge my overactive imagination by taking a pregnancy test. Unless I start mysteriously throwing up in a morning sickness-type fashion, that is. : )

One year ago today, I found out that we had no embryos left to freeze after IVF #1. At that time, I was praying that AF would stay far, far away for about 9+ months. So it seems ironic that today, I am instead praying for AF to make an appearance! When I was 22, living it up in college, I never would have imagined that I would spend two Cinco de Mayos in my late 20s obsessing over all things infertility. My desperate hope is that by this time next year, we will be joyfully expecting a baby.

No answer yet from my CCRM nurse regarding the e-mail I sent yesterday asking for approval of our new timeline (see last post). I guess since we’re waiting until October anyway, there’s no big rush to respond. It would be nice, however, to know that they are okay with our plans. I don’t see why they would disapprove, since this timeline is the same one used by patients who do CCS testing on their blastocysts and who lack the beta-3 integrin. But I’ll feel better once I know for sure that they are on board.

I’m stuck in a waiting game. And for now, all I can do is bide my time.

6 Responses to “Waiting Game”

  1. Susie said

    If your nurse’s name begins with an E and has 5 letters in it, she was out yesterday and today. I sent her a time-sensitive email yesterday and got a reply today from another nurse who’s covering for her. She’s typically out on Wednesdays, FYI.

    I know waiting is hard. Hang in there!

    • auntiem10 said

      My nurse’s name starts with a D and has four letters, but thank you! Her typical day off is on Tuesdays. : )

  2. R said

    Welcome to the waiting club. It sucks. Try and find something to distract you.

    • auntiem10 said

      The waiting definitely does suck! CCRM doesn’t seem to be very speedy with their phone calls/e-mails, so I am definitely getting used to that. The e-mail I sent about our timeline wasn’t time-sensitive though, so I figured it might take a while! I definitely agree with finding distractions!

  3. LC1 said

    Hope AF comes soon for you..I am sure your anxious to get the day 3 b/w done and regroup with the Dr.
    Hoping next year at this time you are pregnant!! 🙂 What a fun Cinco de Mayo celebration it will be!

    • auntiem10 said

      Yes, I am ready to do the bloodwork and talk with Dr. Surrey again! I’m also ready to pay our deposit to officially put us on the calendar, but I’m waiting until after the regroup. Eek, your ODWU is in 11 days! I can’t wait to read about it on your blog!

      Hopefully we will both be pregnant next year on Cinco de Mayo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
