My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Plugging Back In

Posted by auntiem10 on May 10, 2010

This weekend the hubby and I decided to unplug from the Internet as much as possible. We wanted to protect ourselves a little bit from Mother’s Day celebrations, so we just kept ourselves busy.

The exception was when I stalked Slice of Pie yesterday to see her beta results (congratulations once again!). : ) Seeing others succeed at CCRM make me a very happy lady. : )

Thanks to AF, I spent Friday night curled up in the fetal position on my couch, willing the cramps to subside. Ouch. We watched a silly movie and just enjoyed a relaxing evening together. Saturday I felt better, so I did lots of cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, etc., and whipped up several batches of cupcakes from scratch for a planned Mother’s Day celebration at my in-laws’.

Sunday morning I had my blood drawn at a local RE’s office, and I’m working on a post detailing that process. Hopefully it will help others going through the process!

On Saturday night my hubby poured me an adult beverage and toasted: “To celebrating the next Mother’s Day with a bun in the oven.” I so fervently hope that this will be our reality next year!

Yesterday was just another dull reminder of the empty, pervasive, childless hole in our lives. I stayed far away from Facebook and my Google Reader, trying to shield myself from the onslaught of blissful moms, giddy over attention from their husbands/children. We spent the evening at my in-laws’, which was nice. I plastered a smile on my face, even though I felt a little like hiding from the world. My sisters-in-law have not had any children (yet), so the celebration was mainly for my wonderful mother-in-law. We grilled out and played bocce, and it was really fun.

Tomorrow morning I’m seeing an endocrinologist for the first time. I’ll also be shipping my Cycle Day 3 serum to CCRM in the morning. The serum will be testing for the following hormone levels:

  • LH
  • Estradiol
  • FSH
  • AMH

I will update after my endocrinology appointment tomorrow!

6 Responses to “Plugging Back In”

  1. Helpful tip on shipping the blood: make sure the blood vial is actually in there! I can laugh about it now but my poor DH shipped our entire special CCRM container WITHOUT the tube. So we had to pay for another shipping container and do it all over again. EGADS.

    Sorry about the Mother’s Day and hoping next year will be YOUR year!

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! Oh my, your poor DH must have felt so bad about that incident! Buying two shipping containers can get pretty expensive! Because of this comment, I double-checked to make sure that the serum was in the container when I got to Fed-Ex! : )

  2. Pie said

    Aww, thanks for the shout and out stalking. I stalk quite a bit too!

    good luck withe the shipping of the blood!

    • auntiem10 said

      I’m glad you don’t mind the shout-out–lots of people have found my blog by searching for CCRM success stories, so I thought your story may give others hope! I know that seeing others succeed has made me feel more optimistic about our chances! : )

  3. Rambler said

    Ah that lovely blood shipment. I was terrified I would break the vial while I drove home from the local clinic.

    What irritated me (although it was also nice in some respect) was that the local lab ran all the same bloodwork FLC did. So I paid twice for it. But it was also interesting to see how similar the results were.

    I remember my FSH was way different (7 vs 9.5 at CCRM) and I’ve heard others say the same happened with them. So keep an eye on that.

    • auntiem10 said

      I can’t believe you had to pay for the tests twice! On my order form, my primary nurse wrote in huge letters “DO NOT RUN.” Since my bloodwork was done on a Sunday, I just sat there while my blood was spun and the serum was separated, so I was able to make absolutely sure that they didn’t run any of the tests! That is very interesting that your results differed between labs!

      I was very nervous that I had packed it incorrectly this morning. I even called CCRM’s lab this morning to double-check that I had done everything right. : )

Leave a Reply

 
