My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Starting Synthroid

Posted by auntiem10 on May 11, 2010

This morning I saw a local endocrinologist for the first time to receive treatment for my high TSH and high TPO antibody levels. A nurse weighed me, took my blood pressure (110/80), listened to my pulse, and recorded a short medical history.

The doctor came in shortly afterwards and, based off my test results and family history, diagnosed me with Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism. My mother has this disease and it is very often passed on from mother to daughter, so I was anticipating this diagnosis.

He explained that while my TSH is clinically only slightly above normal, my lower-than-normal T4 level + my borderline TSH level indicates moderate thyroid dysfunction. The very high TPO antibody level is a big indicator of thyroiditis. He prescribed 50mcg of Synthroid, which I will start tomorrow morning.

Then he spent a few minutes feeling along my thyroid and didn’t think that it was significantly inflamed, so that is good. We discussed my major symptoms (fatigue, feeling cold in my extremities, inability to lose weight despite diet/brisk nightly dog walks), and the doctor said the medicine should help a little. He was surprised that my local reproductive endocrinologist decided against thyroid treatment last year, which reinforces our decision to transfer our care out of her hands. Thank goodness for CCRM!

He did tell me that he would like us to wait until at least the end of the summer to start our IVF cycle, since Synthroid is a slow-releasing medication, and it will likely take a couple of blood draws to regulate my thyroid appropriately while my body builds up a continuous flow of medication. This really doesn’t impact our plans, since we are waiting until October anyway (or September, depending on AF’s arrivals for the next few months). The hubby will be able to build up vacation time while my thyroid is adjusting to the medication, and we can stick with our latest timeline.

I will be taking this dose of Synthroid for the next 5-6 weeks, and then having my thyroid levels retested during the week of June 21st. At that time, the doctor will review and call me to adjust the dosage as needed. I’ll go back to see him in 5-6 months.

Overall, the appointment was exactly what I was expecting. Hopefully the medicine will give my thyroid the help it needs!

15 Responses to “Starting Synthroid”

  1. Rambler said

    What a relief to have a diagnosis in place and medication plan. And even better that it fits in what is your latest IVF plan.

    I hope the meds help you out and that you get to finally lose that weight! Do you have any other siblings (sisters I guess since it’s passed to daughters) with the same diagnosis?

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! I’ve been slowly losing weight for the past few months, but the level of exercise I’ve been doing does not match the very slow weight loss. Maybe Synthroid will help!

      My sister really needs to have her thyroid function tested! She has two children and crappy health insurance, and I think she just doesn’t want to make the appointment. I would not be surprised if she’s dysfunctional too! : )

  2. Mag said

    Good luck to you!
    Please keep us posted. Your blog is great!

  3. I can’t believe another RE didn’t want to treat hypothyroidism, a known potential fertility killer. Sheesh. We like our pregnant patients to be almost hyperthyroid (I work in endocrinology). Glad you’re in good hands now!

    • auntiem10 said

      Yes, my gut instinct was telling me last year that I needed to see an endocrinologist before pursuing our IVF cycle. Not only did my former RE refuse to treat my hypothyroidism, she literally ridiculed me for second-guessing her decision. Ugh! I’m just glad that we transferred to CCRM and are now seeking treatment with a more cautious doctor!

  4. I am glad he put you on synthyroid. Yes, the fatigue does subside. It did for me. But other than that, I couldn’t attribute any other changes to the medicine. All the best! 🙂

    • auntiem10 said

      It’s good to know that your fatigue subsided with the help of Synthroid. That is definitely my biggest symptom, so I will be thrilled if the medicine helps. Thank you!

  5. Susie said

    Isn’t it great to have answers about some things? As one with “unexplained” infertility, I am always grateful when a doctor discovers something that contributes to the inability to conceive. I just like to understand what’s going on. Hope the synthroid helps!

    • auntiem10 said

      Yes, it is wonderful to know that CCRM leaves no stone unturned. Who knows, my thyroid dysfunction could have been one of the big reasons IVF #1 failed for us locally. Hopefully the combination of Synthroid, Depot Lupron treatment, and a better protocol/lab will lead us to our very own BFP, following in your footsteps! : )

  6. LC1 said

    I can definitely relate to the thyroid issues and Hashimotos. My first RE didn’t know I had it either.
    I was so thankful to my second RE who figured it out. My mom has thyroid issues too. Glad you started synthroid!!

    • auntiem10 said

      Hashimoto’s seems to be somewhat difficult to diagnose! The biggest sign is probably a genetic link within the family. My mother, her mother, two of her aunts, and her great-aunt have all had thyroid issues, so I figured it was just a matter of time. Hopefully the Synthroid will do the trick! : )

  7. […] conversation was my thyroid. My local endocrinologist has not yet sent a report to CCRM detailing my appointment last week, so Dr. Surrey wanted to know how it went. I told him that I have begun taking Synthroid to […]

  8. […] on November 12, 2010 Yesterday I had my blood drawn for my second full thyroid panel since being diagnosed with Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism six months ago. After my diagnosis in May, I began taking 50 […]

  9. […] treatment after ER no matter what after local clinic messed up scheduling of endometrial biopsy, diagnosed with Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism, shipped Cycle Day 3 bloodwork to CCRM, then received the […]

Leave a Reply

 
