My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

It’s Friday!

Posted by auntiem10 on May 21, 2010

First of all, congratulations to Susie at Six Months (At a Time)! Stories like hers certainly bring me hope, and I feel that her story may help others who stumble upon this blog.

I am so ready for the weekend! In my area of the world, we’ve had a rainy, dreary week. Thankfully, the weather is going to dry out and warm up just in time for a nice couple of days off. The hubby and I are going to finally plant our vegetable garden tomorrow morning. We’ve been growing our plants indoors from seeds for about eight weeks, and we’ve already tilled the patch of ground. We’ve just been waiting for a favorable forecast! We’re growing zucchini, bell peppers, jalapenos, and green onions. We are vegetable garden virgins, but so far our plants are thriving indoors. : ) Hopefully they will yield some yummy veggies!

Tonight we’re heading to our favorite Thai food restaurant. It’s been a while, and I can’t wait. We love this Thai place so much, we named our Boston terrier after it!

Speaking of our Boston terrier, she is feeling much better. The incision site is starting to close up, and she’s back to running around our house and acting crazy like usual. We’ve skipped our nightly dog walks all week because of the rain and to avoid exposing her rear end to many germs. As a result, both of our terriers are extremely stir-crazy. She’s healed well enough now that a nice long walk will be possible tomorrow. I can’t wait! We’re planning to have her checked out the week of June 14th and then schedule her gland removal surgery for a few weeks after that.

On an IVF-related note, I have a question for anyone (CCRM patient or not) who has stimmed with a Standard Lupron protocol: For how many days did you stim before triggering? Please leave me a comment!

7 Responses to “It’s Friday!”

  1. LC1 said

    Happy Friday! Glad to hear your dog is feeling better 🙂 I did the standard lupron for most of my cycles. For me, it was day 10 or 11 of stimms that I took my trigger shot. Have a wonderful weekend gardening. My husband and I tried to plant a garden last summer but we just didn’t get enough sun in our yard for it to grow well 😦 Hope you have better luck!

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you! I’m trying to estimate how long I may be in Denver. That’s too bad about your garden. Our backyard faces east, so we get sun ALL day long! Have a great weekend! : )

  2. sue said

    hi auntieem, glad to hear you are coming along in your journey. i wanted to give you some advice on your veggies…you may want to try hardening them off/acclimating them to the outdoors before you actually plant them outside as the conditions inside are much different than outdoors…for example, place them outside for a few hours then bring them in and increase time outside gradually (you will probably get better info by googling it and how to do it (if you need to do it) in you area)…good luck with your plants!!!!

  3. Patience said

    I also did the lupron protocol, and at CCRM I stimmed for 11 days, but coasted for a few of those. I have PCOS, so I have a habit of having a skyrocketing Estrogen. Good Luck with your cycle!

  4. Susie said

    Hey, thanks for the shout-out! That’s so sweet. I am impressed with your vegetable garden. In my previous life, my ex and I had a small garden and it was really neat to grow your own veggies. Good luck with that! I know this is going to sound CRAZY but I don’t know what they called my protocol. I will look it up and let you know. Enjoy the weekend!

  5. Rambler said

    Glad to hear your dog is feeling on ill effects from the surgery! I know what you mean about the rain, its been heavy here for the last two days. But next week is showing 80’s (whoo hoo!!) and sunshine. So looking foward to that with Memorial Day Weekend.

    I never finished my first standard lupron protocol but I was close to finishing at about 12 days of stims.

  6. Molly said

    This is random, but I had saved your original blog a while ago from thebump since I was reading about KC experiences in trying to decide what to do. I just randomly decided to check old saved blogs. I had posted my KC RE story on thebump (user name was Beth). My situation was a complete trainwreck of a misdiagnosis/mismanagement with the same RE you saw (who said my only option was IVF straight away and totally misdiagnosed me with PCOS…and there was more messed up stuff too). Anyway, after CCRM straightened everything out for me (I mean, there were so many errors/misinformation: it was sick), we ended up with twins after seeing a different RE in KC for Clomid/IUI. All that to say, I just wanted you to know that I’m rooting for you and hoping and praying for success. They certainly aren’t perfect in CO, but they are VERY thorough and I believe will give you the best shot. Also, my labs were no good (FSH was 14.1, AFC ok at 11-13, and AMH was low for my age at 1.15), so I’m glad that yours look good! Be encouraged! Best wishes and I hope it’s ok if I follow your story.

Leave a Reply

 
