My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Optimism

Posted by auntiem10 on June 8, 2010

I’m not sure why, but today I’m feeling so gosh darn optimistic about our upcoming cycle! I may be a fool and way too naive, but I can’t help it. For the first time since being labeled an “infertile,” I truly feel like we’re getting the best care. I never 100% trusted my RE at my former clinic, and it turns out that I had good reason not to trust her.

Edited to Add: I fully realize that there is a chance that our cycle may not be successful, but I think I will find comfort in knowing that we are going to the best. And I apologize if the first paragraph of this blog entry is insensitive to anyone out there who has not found success via CCRM.

Part of my positive attitude is probably the result of telling my boss yesterday about our upcoming cycle. He is actually the only person, besides us (and you of course!) who knows of our plans. The hubby is waiting until next month to clue in his boss, and we aren’t planning to tell friends/family until our cycle is completely over (which I’ll talk about in a future post). My job is very project-based, and projects due in late August are already being assigned to members of my team. I wanted him to know so that he can schedule around me during the month of October. My boss and his wife went through IVF and now have a 2-year-old son, so he knows all about the emotional, physical, and financial burden placed on those enduring infertility treatments. He learned about CCRM through a neighbor who (successfully) cycled there, and yesterday he referred to it as “the Mayo Clinic of infertility.” It felt really great to hear him say that, and he was 100% supportive of the fact that I’ll be missing up to two weeks of work this fall. I am lucky to have a supervisor who totally empathizes with our struggles.

Today marks one week of really tracking what I’m eating, and so far I have lost 4.8 lbs since last Tuesday! I feel great already, honestly. I’ve totally eliminated coffee from my diet at this point, reduced my soda intake to one/day, have been eating a more vegetable-based diet, and have been walking briskly at least 30 minutes/day. I’ve been drinking at least 80 oz of water/day, and I haven’t drank a drop of wine or booze in over a week. We’ve been focusing on eating more homemade foods (like making homemade pizza and BBQ sauce) instead of buying processed foods. This saves money and helps us to know exactly what is in the food we are eating. We also tried our first grass-fed steak and organic produce. I’m really excited about our new healthy lifestyle and am trying to approach it like it’s just another part of our IVF protocol.

Last weekend was great! On Friday, we drove with our pooches to our favorite park (near our old house) and briskly walked around it. Then we came home and enjoyed a yummy dinner and started watching the HBO miniseries The Pacific (which is great if you enjoy WWII history!). Saturday I drove to my hometown, had one of my high school best friends cut my hair, and then had lunch with my college best friend. It was great to see both of them. My college friend has a 5-year-old son and 2-year-old twins (with whom she got pregnant basically the first month of TTC), but she is so amazingly supportive of our IF struggles. She asks a lot of questions about the procedures and always makes sure to let me know that she is praying hard for us. I just ❤ her. Sunday my hubby went fishing with his buddy, and I cleaned, gardened, and relaxed. In the evening, we made an out-of-this-world BBQ chicken pizza together. Cooking together is really one of our favorite things, and it was so much fun. It was truly a great weekend!

Today is Cycle Day 33 and there is still no sign of AF. I’m starting to feel those familiar rumblings in my reproductive region, though, so I’m sure she is preparing to rear her ugly head. In just four months, I’ll be waiting for AF so that I can get the show on the road! Sometimes the wait seems neverending, but other days (like today), time seems like it’s flying. I think it helps that the wait is during the summertime, when we usually stay pretty busy. It will be here before I know it!

4 Responses to “Optimism”

  1. R said

    I’m glad you are optimistic. You should be. Your ODWU numbers were great. Yes, CCRM doesn’t work for everyone (I know that all too well), but they have great doctors and an amazing lab. I really hope that your October cycle brings you success.

  2. JL said

    just got back from a quick getaway and finally updated. I hope to stay optimistic too but its so hard. Sounds like you have a great boss esp if he’s been through IVF before. I have not discussed anything with my boss since they change so often. October will be here before you know it and hope to have some great news!

  3. LC1 said

    You definitely have a great chance for success, especially at CCRM. Keep up the positive attitude! My acupuncturist scolded me for being so negative yesterday… being positive is important for success 🙂
    Good job on being healthy and losing some weight! Hopefully AF comes soon!!

  4. LisainSK said

    Hey auntieem…I too have this over optimistic feeling about CCRM after our ODWU yesterday. And CONGRATS on 4.8 pounds…that’s awesome! Keep up the good work. I too look forward to watching The Pacific as we thoroughly enjoyed Band of Brothers. But we’ve already decided we’ll watch the whole “The Pacific” series on DVD while I am on bedrest in Denver – that should be this fall sometime too. Not sure if it’s available on DVD or not…hope so though!

Leave a Reply

 
