My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Mocked by the Expectant Mothers Parking Spot

Posted by auntiem10 on June 10, 2010

Last night after work, I had a couple of errands to run. I dropped off a prescription, picked up a few items at the grocery store, filled up my car with gasoline, and then went back to the pharmacy to pick up my and DH’s prescriptions. The grocery store parking lot was totally full, and the only parking spot for a few minutes was the “Expectant Mothers” parking spot right next to the handicapped parking. Ugh, I hate that spot! I drove by cursing it a couple of times until a spot further down the row opened up. When I was on my way out with my groceries, a hugely pregnant woman just happened to be walking into the store from that spot. She was beautiful and glowing, and I felt so deflated. I just felt kind of like the heavens were mocking me!

Is anyone else perturbed by the “Expectant Mothers” parking spot at stores?!

6 Responses to “Mocked by the Expectant Mothers Parking Spot”

  1. R said

    I posted the same thing on Mother’s Day. UGH! I HATE those stupid spots.

    • auntiem10 said

      I remember that post now! It rang true for me on Mother’s Day, but even more so now! Ugh. I get the point, but I find it so insensitive.

  2. Ronni said

    Stumbled upon your blog and feel compelled to comment on this particular entry. 3 IVFs – the last being at CCRM two years ago and no baby to be had for us.

    I feel that I can admit to you that I sometimes park in those spots. Because, well…I “expected” to be a mother. 🙂

    Isn’t that rotten of me?

    Best of luck to you – I hope you get to park (legitimately) in one of those spots soon!

    • auntiem10 said

      Thank you for commenting! 🙂

      I too briefly considered parking in that spot (simply b/c there were no other spots to be had), but I was too afraid that someone would ask my due date or something. I knew that would just make me feel worse.

      I would love to hear your story, if you read this and feel like e-mailing me! ccrmjourney@hotmail.com

  3. I hate those spots. Since technically I’m expecting an adopted baby then I want to park in it! So annoying.

  4. Patience said

    Absolutely! I despise those spots. I think there should be “swollen ovaries” parking spots and “I don’t have kids” parking spots too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
