My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Lulu’s Surgery

Posted by auntiem10 on June 16, 2010

Today our adorably sweet, hilariously clumsy, eternally good-natured Boston terrier Lulu is having major surgery.

I am a basketcase. She has chronic anal gland issues, and the time has come to have them removed. She needs this surgery to prevent future emergency situations, but I hate it. Reluctantly, I drove her to the vet clinic this morning with a cinderblock in my belly, and she is there now having pre-surgery bloodwork to confirm that she’s a good candidate for surgery.

This surgery is risky because of the possibility of nerve damage that can leave her incontinent. She’s only three, so the thought of having her in diapers for the rest of her life is heartbreaking. Her surgeon assures me that he has never caused a dog major complications with this surgery, so I’m trusting him. She may have short-term loss of bowel control, though.

I am very thankful that this surgery is not life-threatening (the only major risk to her life is bleeding), but she is my baby and it’s not easy for me to let her go under and know that she’ll wake up in terrible pain. I feel a tremendous sense of guilt, even though I know that this surgery is much needed. The gland ruptures she has suffered have been very painful too, and this surgery will put an end to them, once and for all.

More than anything else, I worry about her pain level. Recovery from this surgery is supposed to be very painful, and I don’t like the thought of her feeling excruciating pain. Her surgeon has a high-tech laser that will minimize invasiveness and prevent major bleeding, so my hope is that her pain level will be lessened with this technology.

If she’s doing well enough this evening, the vet will let her go home for the night. I’ll have to bring her back in tomorrow morning, but it will be worth the extra drive to have her home tonight instead of in a cage at the vet’s office. Our home is quiet and familiar to her, which I think will help her to rest. If she’s not doing so well, though, then she’ll have to stay overnight. I’m prepared to go into total nurse mode tonight or tomorrow. : )

I would appreciate it if you could spare her some good thoughts today!

8 Responses to “Lulu’s Surgery”

  1. Pie said

    Good luck Lulu! Sending you many happy puppy vibes!

  2. Rambler said

    I thought of Lulu today and hope she is home with you and resting. You both should snuggle up tight. 🙂

  3. LC1 said

    Hope Lulu did well today and gets to go home with you tonight. Get well soon, Lulu!!!

  4. Rebecca said

    I hope Lulu’s surgery went well. I totally understand the cinderblock-in-the-belly feeling – I cried when I had to take our dogs in for their dentals, and that was a minor procedure compared to what Lulu is going through. I hope her recovery is as pain-free as possible.

    • auntiem10 said

      Thanks Rebecca! The pain meds seem to be keeping her pretty comfortable, so I am thankful for that! Hopefully this surgery will allow her to have a much more comfortable 10+ years.

Leave a Reply

 
