My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Staying Sane

Posted by auntiem10 on June 22, 2010

Thank you all so much over the past few days for visiting this blog or offering words of support. Knowing that I’m not alone in this battle has been tremendously comforting to me. Sorry to have been so whiny over the past few days! I’m pressing the Reset button and trying to make today a better day.

The local RE only saw one endometrioma this morning, which is good news. It’s about 32mm. The images will be sent to Dr. Surrey this afternoon. The local RE suggested that he would not recommend removal, but that the endometrioma could pose an obstruction with retrieving all of the eggs. In cases when it’s unavoidable, he punctures the endometrioma (ouch) to get the rest of the eggs. This would cause me more discomfort, but I’m more concerned with making sure the eggs are retrievable.

Over the last 48 hours, my husband and I talked about how to cheer ourselves up, now that the shock of his brother and SIL’s pregnancy is wearing off. We agree that we need an attitude adjustment! : ) My in-laws host a 4th of July party annually, so it won’t be long until we’re all together again. After mulling it over,  the hubby and I decided to begin our IVF cycle with my next visit from AF in July. We have plenty of money at this point (after a full year of saving!), and my hubby has accrued enough vacation time to be in Denver for a little over a week. We think the excitement of our impending cycle will help us to deal with the pregnancy talk and baby excitement on the 4th of July. When we leave that day, we can tell ourselves that we’ll have just a few more weeks to wait.

Yesterday I informed my nurse that we wanted to start our cycle with my next AF. She’s working on our calendar (I’ll receive it tomorrow), but she already told me that I’ll be starting stims on 8/13, traveling to Denver on 8/17, and my tentative ER date will be 8/24. I decided to add in BCPs after all so that I can shave a week off of my cycle. I’m expecting AF sometime around July 18th, and I think I’m going to try to track my LH surge with OPKs this cycle so we have a better idea of whether AF is going to show up on time next month. I’ll post my new calendar tomorrow when I receive it from my nurse.

With this decision made, I feel quite a bit happier and more excited. This past year of waiting in limbo has seemed endless at times, and to know that the end is in sight is truly wonderful. Although we’re still going to do a freeze-all, two months of Depot Lupron, and then prepare for an FET, at least we’re finally gearing up to cycle! My hope is that this will be our last IVF cycle ever!

9 Responses to “Staying Sane”

  1. Pie said

    Knowing I was moving towards a near goal always made me feel better, more in control. Glad you guys are moving again! And only one bit o’ chocolate on the ovaries! That is good news!

  2. LC1 said

    Glad to hear the you won’t need surgery. Moving up the cycle is a great plan. So exciting!! You’re getting so close!!

  3. Cassie said

    It’s so great to have a plan! And your calendar is very close to the one I hope to have for our donor cycle – I hope to be able to have my transfer sometime during the same week as your retrieval, though I don’t know if it will be able to work out that perfectly. But I agree that having this plan in mind will help you survive the 4th of July weekend. I hope you have a great time!

  4. R said

    I hope so too.

  5. A.E. said

    Wow!
    That’s not too far away.
    Congratulations!!!

  6. LisainSK said

    Cool…glad to hear you have decided to cycle earlier!!

  7. Susie said

    I’m just catching up on your last several posts. Reading about the shower and then the latest news brought tears to my eyes. But I’m so excited for your decision to cycle sooner. What a great way to shift your focus to something you can look forward to. I will be following and rooting for you all the way!! Also, thank you for your most recent comment on my blog. Since my BFP I’ve kind of been at a loss regarding how I fit in this community (who wants to read about how sick I’ve been?). Your comment helped remind me that we’re still all in this together and it’s each others’ support that makes the difference many days. Thank you. Hope the coming days are better and better for you.

  8. Flygirl555 said

    Sounds like a terrific plan! Glad we get to be here to cheer you on!

  9. […] couldn’t miss, devastation ensued after finding out my sister-in-law is pregnant, decided to move up our IVF cycle ASAP, received second calendar, spent blissful hours tending our […]

Leave a Reply

 
