My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

New Calendar!

Posted by auntiem10 on June 23, 2010

My new IVF calendar arrived in my Inbox this morning, and already I feel a sense of excitement brewing. Here it is! (click to enlarge)

I feel like our care is in the best possible hands and that our embryos will be at the best possible lab, so we are doing all we can to attempt a healthy pregnancy. Part of me really wishes that we were adding CCS screening, but Dr. Surrey assured me during both the ODWU and my initial consult that he didn’t feel it was necessary when considering our age (28 and 27) and with the results of my bloodwork. I’m just going along with his advice (he is the expert, after all), but if our cycle fails, I think I will really regret not pushing harder for chromosome testing.

Hopefully AF arrives on time next month so that we can just get the show on the road! My tentative ER date is two months from tomorrow, which does not seem far away!

Today is actually my fourth whole day of consuming ZERO caffeine. Considering that I’m a recovering caffeine addict, this is an achievement. I’m embarrassed to say that I continued to drink a little caffeine throughout IVF #1 and also before our ODWU. I used to get headaches if I failed to properly caffeinate myself, and I would always give in and drink a soda. A few months ago, I began to slowly wean myself from it. First I eliminated my morning coffee (which was pretty easy since it’s been near 100 degrees here lately), and then I started decreasing the amount of diet soda I was drinking. On Sunday, I decided to do a “test run” to see if I could avoid caffeine all day without getting a headache. And I haven’t had a headache or a drop of caffeine since Saturday! I’m also working on reducing sugar in my diet and increasing green leafy veggies. We’ve been eating salads, spinach, broccoli, and green beans galore lately, and I’ve been drinking tons of water. I know it may seem like much, but I could not even remember the last time I went an entire day without any caffeine at all–let alone four days!

8 Responses to “New Calendar!”

  1. R said

    So glad you got your calendar. 2 months will be here before you know it. In terms of testing, I asked about this with my donor and I was told it wasn’t necessary. Now I wish I had. I also am going to talk to the dr about testing my remaining embryos, but that comes with complications as yo need to thaw-refreeze-thaw, so if it is something you are seriously considering, you may want to do it now.

  2. LC1 said

    Yay for getting your calendar!! So excited for you that you moved it up! Good job on the no caffiene, I am sure it is difficult, but worth it in the end 🙂

  3. LisainSK said

    Calendars are good!! That means it’s a real plan…look forward to following your journey.

  4. Yay for a calendar!

  5. Flygirl555 said

    How exciting to get your calendar! From a former diet soda drinker to you – congrats! That is a huge accomplishment. It takes a little more effort to work all the veggies in, bur I bet you’ll notice changes for the better quickly. Also, it forces you to try new things and be a little more creative with your meals. Have fun!

  6. Patience said

    Getting my calendar always made me feel like I was finally in the game. Congrats on cutting out caffeine. That was really tough for me- especially the chocolate!

    Good Luck with your cycle!

  7. […] of the orders my CCRM nurse faxed to my local clinic, since neither appointment actually appears on my calendar. I’m kind of wondering if she is mistaken about dates, but maybe some of you experienced […]

  8. […] finding out my sister-in-law is pregnant, decided to move up our IVF cycle ASAP, received second calendar, spent blissful hours tending our […]

Leave a Reply

 
