My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Just Waiting

Posted by auntiem10 on June 24, 2010

My ultrasound images from Tuesday have been forwarded to Dr. Surrey (he’s apparently out of the office this week) and my thyroid panel recheck bloodwork has been drawn… so today I find myself on Cycle Day 10, just waiting for the next stage of treatment. I’m not anticipating hearing from either doctor’s office until next week, but I’ll be sure to post the results. In the meantime, the work week is winding down, and I can’t wait for the weekend!

About my thyroid recheck… I just wanted to clarify why I’m allowed to move forward with my IVF cycle so soon, considering I had mentioned previously that my local endocrinologist wanted me to have two blood draws over a 12-week span to get my thyroid levels under control. I forgot to mention that during my regroup appointment with Dr. Surrey, he told me that the most important time for normal thyroid levels is during the embryo transfer. This is because thyroid disease can cause problems for the fetus. He told me that as long as I am taking Synthroid and have had one blood draw, he would be comfortable with proceeding with our freeze-all cycle. I just wanted to provide this info for future CCRMers who may have newly discovered thyroid dysfunction!

2 Responses to “Just Waiting”

  1. LC1 said

    Interesting about the thyroid. Good to know:) Hope you hear soon about the u/s results!!

  2. LisainSK said

    Thanks for the thyroid issue…I have “mild” hypothyroidism (TSH 5.0 all other thyroid levels normal) and they want me to take low dose Synthroid to get TSH to 3.0. But we won’t be doing a transfer until October so I should be good by then. But thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
