My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Our Summer Hobby

Posted by auntiem10 on June 29, 2010

I’m in another lull in treatment, so I thought I would share some photos of our newest obsession–vegetable gardening!

Early this spring, we decided to start a vegetable garden, in the hopes that we could save money at the grocery store and that hours spent gardening would help the summer pass more quickly. We bought a little greenhouse with peat pellets, along with some seeds, and nurtured the plants indoors starting in late March. Within about a week, our zucchini plants started shooting up, followed much later by bell pepper plants, jalapeno plants, and green onions.

In April, my darling husband spent hours tirelessly tilling a patch of grass in our backyard. During the second weekend of May, we planted everything in the ground and crossed our fingers that our hard work would pay off.

Thankfully, our plants are thriving! It is so rewarding to walk outside and see healthy green leaves and blossoms. Gardening is good for the soul!

Here is our very first baby zucchini, growing a little each day.

Here’s another little zucchini plant, which is just starting to grow!

Here is the view from behind the garden, with plenty of huge zucchini leaves on the right, bell pepper plants in the middle, jalapeno plants on the top left, and green onions in the rear.

Here’s a close-up of a jalapeno plant… in the past 48 hours, two jalapenos have begun to grow! One teeny-tiny little green bell pepper has also begun to grow in the past few days!

And I couldn’t resist taking a couple of pictures of some beautiful snapdragons that have recently bloomed!

Mother Nature is such a beautiful thing!

6 Responses to “Our Summer Hobby”

  1. LisainSK said

    It’s nice to get outside and do some gardening…I enjoy it too.

  2. I wish we had SUN to do a garden–our yard is big but it’s mostly shaded by enormous oak trees (which we are thrilled to have). But man would I love to grow some peppers!

  3. LC1 said

    Beautiful garden! My husband would be soo jealous. He tried to do a garden in our yard but it did not work out. Enjoy your veggies!! Yum!

  4. Cassie said

    I’m very jealous! Right now I only have a window box, which is currently growing the weeds of random seeds that must have blown in over the past year. And with our impending move back to Manhattan, I’d be lucky to even have a window box! I do wish I could have a yard and a garden!

  5. Rambler said

    My DH loves gardening and we’got a bunch of stuff planted. This summer just hasn’t been hot enough here yet for things to grow quickly. But we’ve got okra, onions, bell peppers, jalapenos, cherry tomatoes, lettuce (yummy summer salads!) and even green beans.

    I love stepping out of the kitchen into my own grocery store!!

  6. […] June 2010: Played nurse to our Boston terrier as she had major surgery to remove her anal glands, received my first of six calendars, attended the only baby shower I couldn’t miss, devastation ensued after finding out my sister-in-law is pregnant, decided to move up our IVF cycle ASAP, received second calendar, spent blissful hours tending our garden […]

Leave a Reply

 
