My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Friday Funny: Honeymoon Embarrassment

Posted by auntiem10 on July 9, 2010

After the hubby and I tied the knot back in 2008, we traveled to a resort in Mexico for our honeymoon for a week of complete and utter blissful relaxation. It was there that a pretty embarrassing moment occurred in my life, and I want to share it with you!

One night we walked to a restaurant for dinner, dressed to the nines. I was wearing a pretty skirt, and underneath I wore a body smoother (you can probably see already where this is going). I had shed quite a bit of weight before our wedding (a combination of spinning classes + nerves!), so the skirt was pretty loose. It was flowy and comfortable, so I wore it anyway.

We met two British couples at the restaurant, and afterwards the six of us walked to a beach party where people were dancing. We had enjoyed cocktails throughout dinner, and my reflexes were not up to speed. My hubby walked toward a bartender to order drinks, and I decided to set my empty glass on the counter. As I stood up, I apparently stepped on the bottom of my skirt. Suddenly I felt an airy sensation at my midsection, looked down, and realized that my skirt was literally around my ankles! O-M-G.

I heard snickers from the British couples as I bent down with my most nonchalant air, yanked up my skirt, and tried to regain my dignity. My hubby was still working on ordering our drinks and hadn’t seen the whole debacle. Without saying a word to the British people, I darted over to him, grabbed his arm, and walked back toward our room. On the way, I told him the story, and he laughed so hard he cried. Once in our room, I promptly ordered our drinks from room service and attempted to erase this moment from my memory.

The rest of the week, it seemed as though I couldn’t get away from the British people. Everywhere we turned, there they were! Each time we saw them, my face would turn crimson and a squirmy feeling would make its presence known in my belly.

In hindsight, I wish I would have just laughed it off and made the most of it. : ) My family occasionally brings up this story and spends a few minutes making fun of me, and the story gives everyone a good laugh. I’m glad it happened on vacation instead of at work or something! I’m planning to wear this same skirt to my job interview next week, which is why this memory came to mind. Hopefully it will stay in place! : )

Please leave me a comment and tell me about one of your most embarrassing moments so I don’t feel so alone out here!

4 Responses to “Friday Funny: Honeymoon Embarrassment”

  1. LisainSK said

    I’m struggling to come up with a story (but there are many I’m sure) but just thanks for the Friday giggles!! I’ll post my story as soon as I think of one so I don’t leave you hanging!!

  2. LC1 said

    Hmm, I can’t think of one right now either…. I do have a honeymoon story that we never will forget. My husband lost his ring in the ocean. We searched and searched for the ring (with snorkeling gear and all) but could not find it. The resort employees were so nice and friendly and they helped search until the sun went down. But no luck. Two of the employees got up very early at sunrise and searched and found the ring!! We gave them a big tip for finding it and then in return they gave us a private boat ride. It’s fun to have a story to share.

    Good luck at your interview- be careful with your skirt!!

  3. R said

    I have had more embarrassing moments than I can count!

    Here are my top picks:
    – My husband told the story of how we met (skinny dipping) at our wedding.
    – When I was 8 years old, I was locked out of my cabin at summer camp completely NAKED and I was known as the “flasher” for at least a decade.
    – Twice this year, I was ‘walked in on’ while in the stall of a public bathroom (once by a male, once by a female)

  4. Cassie said

    Here’s a funny story that actually happened to my husband on our honeymoon. We were sitting at the bar in a small restaurant waiting for our table. While having a drink and being all lovey-dovey, an older man next to my husband said “You look like you are very much in love. It’s a great thing to have a wife.” To which my husband replied by asking, “Are you married?”. After a pause the man said “My wife died this morning.” There was an awkward silence – we didn’t know if he was kidding or not. At that point the owner of the restaurant came over to the man, put his hand on his shoulder and said “I’m so sorry to hear about your wife.” We felt awful but the man seemed ok and maybe seeing us so much in love reminded him of the good times with his wife. At least that’s what we hope.

Leave a Reply

 
