My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Back to the RE Tomorrow

Posted by auntiem10 on August 19, 2010

Early tomorrow morning, I’ll be heading to my RE’s office for an u/s to measure my lead follicle. If it’s about 18mm, I’ll get to use my Novarel HCG trigger shot to force ovulation. If it’s smaller, then I’ll have more monitoring next week until my body is ready for ovulation. Hopefully AF will arrive about two weeks later, which would be right around my DH’s b-day in September. Great, his b-day gift will be coping with an extremely hormonal wife. : )

This weekend we’re taking a day trip to visit my mom, who lives a couple of hours away. She adopted a dog from her local shelter last weekend, so we stocked up on gifts and can’t wait to meet her. The dog (Honey) has been really nervous this week–jumpy and barely eating/drinking–and has been growling at my mom’s cat, but we’re hoping that with time, she’ll settle in to her new digs and accept the kitty. My mom is basically THE biggest pet lover ever and is willing give Honey a lifetime of companionship, but we’re all a little worried about her getting along with the cat. Hopefully it will work out.

This week has been difficult for me because yesterday marks the four-year anniversary of my grandma’s unexpected death. My grandmother was instrumental in my life and was the first family member I would turn to when I needed support or had news to share. She had neck surgery the first week of August 2006 and died in the middle of the night at home a week later. We think she had a brain hemorrhage, but my grandpa refused to do an autopsy. She cried out for him (they were sleeping across the hall from each other so that she could rest and recover), and by the time he got to her, she was gone. They were high school sweethearts and had just celebrated their 50-year wedding anniversary the previous December.  She was only 68 and I was looking forward to spending at least 15 more years with her. It was not meant to be. I think of her daily and miss her terribly.

Enough of my downer attitude. I hope you are all having a great week–the weekend is just around the corner!

3 Responses to “Back to the RE Tomorrow”

  1. LisainSK said

    That is such a sad story about your grandma…yes, gone too soon. Hugs to you as you get past another painful anniversary.

    Have a great weekend as well.

  2. Cassie said

    I’m very sorry to hear about your grandmother’s untimely death – that is very sad. I am sure she is still watching over you though.

    I hope you get good news about the follicle and get to eject it soon!

  3. R said

    I’m so sorry about your grandma. I too hope you get good news tomorrow at the ultrasound.

Leave a Reply

 
