My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Ouch

Posted by auntiem10 on September 5, 2010

Today is my hubby’s birthday. We had a great day and then drove to my in-laws’ to celebrate the birthdays of my hubby, his brother, and his sister. His pregnant SIL was wearing a baggy shirt so I couldn’t really see her bump. There were lots of baby-related comments tonight, but the worst moment for me was during dinner. I was munching on veggie fajitas when my BIL (hubby’s brother) pulled out his cell phone to show my hubby a funny ringtone. Then he played another sound clip… of their baby’s heartbeat. Everybody laughed and excitedly discussed how the child was going to be a tapdancer because of all the sounds going on inside the womb. All I could think was: Oh. my. god. And: Ouch. I felt my face flush and tears stung my eyes, so I stared at my plate until I could regain my composure. My hubby squeezed my hand; I knew that it hurt him too. I went through the motions for the rest of the evening, playing games outside and putting on my best face, but on our way home the tears spilled over. I am really trying to cope with her pregnancy because she is THEE kindest person alive, but tonight was a real struggle. And because this moment happened on my hubby’s bday, I don’t even want to ruin the day by confessing my immense sadness to him. He would hold me and kiss me and tell me that everything is going to be okay, but he will share in my sadness, and I can’t allow that on his birthday. Thank goodness for this blog and for all of you out there who understand–thank you for reading this blog and for leaving me comments once in a while.

5 Responses to “Ouch”

  1. R said

    I had a similar moment tonight. We were at a family wedding and my MIL asked someone at the table if they thought it would be ok if my SIL drinks on her honeymoon even though they will be trying. I literally was floored and it took over an hour at the wedding to calm back down. Sorry your SIL’s pg is so difficult right now.

  2. LisainSK said

    Hey AuntiEM, so sorry for such a rough night. I think I would have been driven over the edge too – but with everyone around staring at me. Big hugs to you

  3. Pie said

    ooooh, super-ouch. Gosh, don’t people think? i guess not. i’m so sorry, for you and hubby.

  4. Cassie said

    People just don’t get what we go through, no matter how much they profess to understand. Until you have walked a mile in our shoes, there is just no way you could possibly understand the pain. I’m sorry this happened.
    Hugs! (And Happy Birthday to your DH.)

  5. […] failed, started Prometrium-Lupron Overlap protocol, received fifth calendar, struggled with family joy over SIL’s pregnancy as well as friends’ pregnancies, got humiliated at church, received […]

Leave a Reply

 
