My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

The Dim Light

Posted by auntiem10 on September 9, 2010

Thank you to all who commented on my last post. It was definitely a rough weekend! I feel that infertility has robbed me of my typical “glass-half-full” mentality. I’ve shaken off the funk for now and am refocusing on the light at the end of the tunnel. Right now it seems so, so dim, but it is there. Because of the two months of depot lupron after ER, I believe our embryo transfer won’t occur until at least January 2011. That seems SO far away right now! But in reality, it’s just around the corner.

I have five Prometrium pills left (200mg taken twice daily), so I’ll finish those out on Saturday night. Then I will start the wait for AF. Trusty Google says that AF arrives for most women about five days after stopping the pills. My very tentative calendar estimates that AF will arrive seven days later (on 9/18). We shall see. I also started 10 units of lupron daily last night. I will continue with the full dose of lupron (10 units) until the day I start stims, at which time I’ll reduce the lupron dosage to 5 units per day.

Once AF starts, I’ll go to my local RE’s office for the suppression check. HOPEFULLY, I’ll get to start stims this time! I still feel the off-and-on pinching that I believe the cyst is causing, so I hope it goes away with AF. I’ve definitely learned not to count my chickens before they hatch. All confidence I had in my body cooperating is gone, and I’ll go into that suppression check in a few weeks with a belly full of butterflies and two hands full of crossed fingers!

4 Responses to “The Dim Light”

  1. LisainSK said

    Make that two extra sets of crossed fingers for you…this has GOT to work!

  2. Rambler said

    One day at a time, that’s the best you can do. Hoping that next supression check is it for you!! Although yuck to feeling that cyst!

  3. Just keep your eyes on the light–even though it appears dim now, it will only grow brighter and brighter, and Jan. will be here before you know it!

  4. Heather said

    Best wishes on your cycle.

    Your last few posts really struck a cord with me. I can so relate to how it feels to have to be around people who can start a family on whatever schedule they plan. Just recently I had to spend an entire weekend with a friend who told us in the first hour that not only was she pregnant a month after trying, but she is having twins. It ranked up there as one of the worst weekends ever. I don’t know if that sort of thing will ever get any easier, but I totally get how you feel. Totally. get. it.

    Good luck on that suppression check. Take care.

Leave a Reply

 
