My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

World’s Best Partner

Posted by auntiem10 on September 11, 2010

While on our mini-vacation a few weekends ago, we did some antiquing. I found a beautiful Waterford-style vase with a daisy pattern tucked away in a store, so I bought it and we brought it home. (I love Waterford-style glassware and have a small collection in boxes in our basement.) Last night I arrived home to delicious smells and beautiful flowers. Pink roses and other flowers filled the vase, and my hubby had prepared an amazing homemade dinner of shrimp scampi, crab legs, and seared scallops! There was no special occasion–he just felt like it!

I am not posting this to brag. I just want to recognize my husband and point out how fortunate I am to walk through life with him. Life during the past two years has often felt like a struggle. We got married, and three weeks later we were at an RE’s office already discussing IVF. A month after that, we were failing our first IUI. And then our second. And then our first IVF cycle. The optimism has faded that maybe, just maybe we’ll get pregnant on our own. This past year in particular has been very difficult, as we were stuck in limbo and became “Frugal Frank” and “Frugal Francine” in order to save the money it will take to make this cycle happen.

The silver lining to all of these negative experiences is that they have made our marriage stronger. We’ve had to work as a team to make this dream happen, and we’ve clung to each other when it seemed like us vs. The World. I feel awful that the failure of my body has led us down this path. My inability to conceive has caused my husband great sadness and anger, and there’s nothing I can do to make it go away. Sometimes I am amazed that despite it all, he still loves me as much as he does. So to come home last night and see the effort he put into providing such a wonderful evening for me, the Bitter Infertile, I can only say that I felt like the luckiest girl alive.

5 Responses to “World’s Best Partner”

  1. R said

    You are lucky, that sounds like an absolutely wonderful evening.

  2. LC1 said

    Ahhh, how sweet of your husband. Yes, a silver lining, glad your marriage has only grown stronger thru this whole struggle. I feel the same way about my marriage.

  3. Cassie said

    You have every right to brag – it sounds like you are very lucky!

  4. Patience said

    What a sweetheart! Sounds like an amazing man. I am thankful for a stronger marriage as well.. something that IF hasn’t robbed me of, but has brought us closer together. What a wonderful evening you had! You have every right to brag!

  5. LisainSK said

    Brag away hun…you deserve it! I get the feeling that you two are incredibly close and no matter what happens you will walk through this together.

Leave a Reply

 
