My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Cringeworthy

Posted by auntiem10 on September 12, 2010

This morning we decided to attend a new neighborhood church. The senior pastor of this church is the man who married us, and he and his wife have been encouraging us to attend a service since we moved to the neighborhood last August. When we walked in, the pastor recognized us and hurried over to welcome us. He turned to me and asked, “How are you feeling?” Quizzically I wondered, “What is he talking about???” He knows many members of my husband’s family, so I wondered if one of them had mentioned our infertility struggles and he felt he should be sensitive to our pain. I told him I was feeling great, and we took a seat.

Just before the service started, my hubby’s distant cousin and her husband sat down next to us. As she walked past us, she said, “I hear congratulations are in order!” Suddenly everything made sense. Horrified, I realized that both she and the pastor thought it was us who are expecting a baby, not realizing that the pregnant woman is actually my SIL. Meanwhile, the senior pastor was apparently pointing us out to regular members of the church and telling them that congratulations are in order.

I sat through the service with a knot in my belly. Once it ended, the distant cousin asked me pointedly how I am feeling. For a crazy split second, I fervently wished that I could just go along with the chirade and play the role of pregnant lady for a minute. Of course, instead I politely told her that it was actually my DH’s brother and SIL who are expecting. She felt bad that she had mixed up the information, and I told her it was no big deal. We then had to correct the pastor, who again looked at me pointedly and asked how I was feeling, and then appeared bewildered when we informed him that the pregnant daughter-in-law was actually my SIL. And then we had to correct other church attendees. By the time we walked out of the doors, we were both cringing. It definitely felt like a giant slap in the face, but I guess for a few minutes, I learned what it must feel like to be pregnant and get to talk about it with others.

I said good riddance to prometrium after last night and am now playing the waiting game for AF. Tonight was Lupron Shot #5. If AF starts soon and everything finally works out with the suppression check, we may be in Denver next week!

7 Responses to “Cringeworthy”

  1. R said

    I’m so sorry for the misunderstanding. That happened me a lot this summer and it stings like a you know what. It sounded like you handled yourself much better than I did though. I so hope you are in Denver next week.

  2. Cassie said

    Wow, that really sucks. It is bad enough to have to correct the mistake with one person, but so many…ugh. But hopefully soon enough they will be congratulating you too!
    I’m picturing you in Denver already next week.

  3. LisainSK said

    Oh my goodness! That is cringeworthy!! Sooo hoping it’s your turn in Denver next week!

  4. Pie said

    Ooooh boy, that is rough. I’m amazed you made it through that, and so graciously. You are a strong woman!! Denver next week (c’mon AF!!)!! Exciting!

  5. Jen said

    That is sucky… But here? Next week? Wow! Good luck!

  6. […] was excited that they’ve chosen her name. The pastor that I previously mentioned in my cringeworthy post last month was also a wedding guest, and he congratulated my father-in-law on his impending […]

  7. […] struggled with family joy over SIL’s pregnancy as well as friends’ pregnancies, got humiliated at church, received sixth (and final!) calendar once AF finally showed, finally passed suppression […]

Leave a Reply

 
