My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Nine Hours Later

Posted by auntiem10 on September 25, 2010

Here I am in Denver! Whew, what a day. My DH and I woke up early to meet with one of the petsitters who will be staying at our house next week. Then we went out for a good breakfast before I hit the road. I left my house at 10:00 a.m. and arrived in Denver at 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m. Mountain Time) I stopped twice along the way to refuel my car and grab a quick lunch during my 599.8-mile drive, but I estimate I drove 8 hours and 40 minutes total (excluding breaks). I woke up this morning in one of the flattest parts of the country, and I will go to bed tonight with the Rocky Mountains hovering in the distance! Pretty neat.

Interesting things I saw along the way: An Oz museum (perfect destination for “Auntie Em,” right?)… a Greyhound Hall of Fame (not at all a fan of dog racing, but I just found this to be really random)… the first section of interstate built in the country. An 1887 opera house. A farm inviting passers-by to see a 6-legged steer and the world’s largest prairie dog. And a whole lotta flat land! When the Rocky Mountains finally appeared in the distance (hazy, but visible), they took my breath away. So beautiful!

I’m staying at the Staybridge Park Meadows. It is nice enough! I am planning to take some photos and write a review for future reference, but it will have to wait until my brain is functioning a little better. It appears to be in a nice area with plenty of businesses nearby, but I’ll wander around and learn more in the coming days. Hopefully it will help those who find my blog in the future.

Tomorrow at 8:15 a.m. is my first follicle scan and bloodwork. Last year, during IVF #1, I could feel my ovaries “brewing” within the first few days of stims. This time, I’m not sure if I feel anything yet. That makes me a little nervous that few eggs are growing, but I know that my current protocol (standard lupron) is a lot less aggressive than my last protocol (microdose lupron). All along I felt that my previous RE fried my eggs by having me stim too quickly and aggressively on MDL, so maybe I should take it as a positive sign that I’m not feeling much yet! Slow and steady wins the race, right? I just hope there is some activity going on in there! I won’t really believe it until I see those beautiful circles on the ultrasound screen.

More tomorrow! Thanks for following along with me on this journey! : )

4 Responses to “Nine Hours Later”

  1. R said

    Glad you made is to Denver safe. Good luck with your first check tomorrow.

  2. Cassie said

    That’s so cool you can drive to CCRM! That is a much cheaper trip than we’ve ever had – good for you! I hope you have a very fruitful visit!

  3. LC1 said

    Glad to hear you made it to to Denver!! Can you believe you’re finally there!!?? I also think it is very cool that you can drive there! Look forward to following your cycle with you!! I’m sure there’s some follies growing in there!! Good luck!

  4. […] final!) calendar once AF finally showed, finally passed suppression check and started stims, drove nine hours to Colorado for our […]

Leave a Reply

 
