My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Day 3 Report

Posted by auntiem10 on October 6, 2010

The embryology lab at CCRM typically doesn’t call with a Day 3 report (at least for patients adding CCS to their protocol), but I decided to call this morning and ask if it was possible to receive an update today. I was fretting about fragmentation since this seemed to be the biggest problem with our embryos last year. The receptionist sent a message to the embryology lab, asking them to call me when possible.

About an hour later, I received the call. Out of the 19 embryos currently in culture, 10 are looking good. All 10 have a rating of at least 3 (on a scale of 1-4 with 4 being the best), have at least six cells, and have little to no fragmentation. Four of the remaining nine embryos are a little slower and could possibly still catch up, and the other five are not likely to make it. Four of the 10 good-looking embryos currently have a rating of 4-, which is really good. Still, this report is a little below average for their lab, based on our age.

The embryologist said that typically, half of the good-looking embryos on Day 3 make it to blast and are able to be biopsied. Because of our youth, it’s possible we could see slightly better results. So maybe five or so will be biopsied. Worst-case scenario, they could all arrest, or a few could make it and then be abnormal. I guess for whatever reason, even though I can make lots of eggs, they just don’t fare well, even in the world’s best embryology lab. It’s pretty disheartening.

I’m glad I got the report, but I definitely wish the news would have been better. I know that ten is still good, but now I find myself pretty afraid of what Saturday’s phone call will bring due to last year’s huge dropoff on Day 4. Please let us just have five to test. Two to three chromosomally normal embryos is all we can ask for.

6 Responses to “Day 3 Report”

  1. LisainSK said

    Big hugs Em…I holding out big hopes that the next phone call from the lab will provide you with a better than expected report. Thinking of you.

  2. LC1 said

    I can relate… we had similar results of 19 fertilized, I was dissapointed too. But you could end up with more than you think on Friday! It’s true though, you don’t need tons of extra blasts! And the success rates are very high with CCS normals! Hang in there!!

  3. I know the feeling so well. The best we ever had was our second IVF at CCRM and we started with twenty six eggs, 17 were mature, and now I can’t remember how many fertilized but we wound up with 6 good day 3 embryos which we vitrified. So I know how it feels to see the diminishing returns, BUT you have TEN good day 3 embryos and possibly a few others and that really is fantastic!

  4. Jen said

    Hoping that day six gives you the results you are looking for! Let’s just hope those slowpokes catch up to their siblings! Hugs!

  5. Patience said

    Thinking of you! Try not to let your hopes collapse yet. The lab at CCRM can work wonders, I’ve seen it myself! Several of my normals were late bloomers… so you just never know. I hope you are nice and busy the next few days so that they will fly by before you know it!

  6. Running_girl said

    Hoping that your day six results exceed your expectations!

Leave a Reply

 
