My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Our CCS Results Are Already In!!!

Posted by auntiem10 on October 15, 2010

Wow, this has been one exciting day in my world, and one of the happiest days of my life. I awoke this morning with a terrible headache–like, the kind where it hurts even to move your eyeballs from side to side. At lunchtime, I realized AF had started, so I guess my headache was hormone-related. Since today is CD 1, I needed to set up the Depot Lupron stuff. I spent an hour coordinating shipment of the first injection, so I’ll be going to my local RE’s office to receive the injection on Sunday morning. Hot flashes, here I come! That was Exciting Development #1!

Then came Exciting Development #2. My wonderful CCRM nurse called to discuss faxing orders for the injection to my local RE’s office. She asked if I had received the CCS results yet, and I told her we were expecting to wait another week. As it turns out, the results were already available, and she was so excited to tell me!

5/6 embryos are chromosomally NORMAL!!!!!

Wow, I am still beaming 30 minutes later. Sixteen months ago, we were sitting in our local RE’s office, crying as we sat in an u/s room, listening to someone else’s baby’s heartbeat in the next room while we waited for the u/s that would confirm our chemical pregnancy. Fifteen months ago, the same RE advised us to consider a donor egg cycle because she felt I possessed no chromosomally normal eggs and it would be the fastest way “from point A to point B.” And today, here we sit, with these amazing results that FAR EXCEEDED our wildest expectations. 

We are SO thankful that we turned to CCRM for help. It was a pain in the butt to sit in limbo for over a year while we threw as much money into savings each paycheck as we could in order to cycle there. From our perspective, CCRM was worth every penny!

Embryo #1: Fertilized abnormally
Embryo #2: Made it to early blast stage, but wasn’t good enough quality to grade or biopsy
Embryo #3: Day 6 blast, Graded 6AB; very expanded and already hatching  ((ABNORMAL))
Embryo #4: Didn’t develop after fertilization
Embryo #5: Day 6 blast, Graded 6BA; looks very similar to Embryo #3  ((NORMAL))
Embryo #6: Didn’t develop after fertilization
Embryo #7: Fertilized abnormally
Embryo #8: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #9: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #10: Degenerate and poor quality
Embryo #11: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #12: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #13: Day 6 blast, Graded 6BA; expanded and hatching  ((NORMAL))
Embryo #14: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #15: Day 5 blast, Graded 5AA; hatching  ((NORMAL))
Embryo #16: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #17: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #18: Did not pass the cleavage stage
Embryo #19: Poor quality
Embryo #20: Day 6 blast, Graded 6AA  ((NORMAL))
Embryo #21: Day 6 blast, Graded 5BA  ((NORMAL))
Embryo #22: Did not pass the cleavage stage

16 Responses to “Our CCS Results Are Already In!!!”

  1. Mo said

    Oh wow! Wonderful news for you! Congratulations!

  2. Maggie said

    Amazing amazing amazing!!! What fabulous news!!!! I am soo happy for you. Have the BEST weekend!!

  3. LisainSK said

    Wow!!! That is SOO awesome Em! I am stunned you got your results so quick!

  4. Patience said

    WOW! What great news! I still can’t believe how fast results come back now. I am so happy for you!

  5. LC1 said

    Congrats on your results!!! So happy for you!!!

  6. R said

    Wonderful!

  7. That’s great news! You are getting so close!

  8. Pie said

    Hotdamn – that is a GREAT CCS report!! Such wonderful super great news, I’m grinning ear-to-ear with you! Good luck with the DL shot – it looks weird (the syringe mechanism itself is odd) but it doesn’t hurt any more any any other IM shot. Enjoy these last few weeks of coolness! 🙂

  9. Molly said

    Congratulations! I’m thrilled for you. That is amazing! I also doubted the local RE all along (as you know!), but that’s still amazing! You are getting so close!

  10. Deana said

    I just saw this post – congratulations!!!!! That is an amazing CCS report!!

  11. […] genetic counselor at CCRM recently told us that our lone abnormal blast (Embryo #3) had Trisomy 2. An extra copy of the second chromosome was found during PCR […]

  12. […] that six great-quality embryos were biopsied for CCS testing, received CCS results SIX days later (five normals!), first Depot Lupron injection, received first FET calendar, more struggles over baby shower […]

  13. […] Our CCS Results […]

  14. Do you think they might have used the abnormal one if you hadn’t done CCS?

    • auntiem10 said

      I think the abnormal one would have been fourth in line. We transferred our first and third best-quality embryos, Embryo #15 (5AA) and Embryo #21 (5BA). We opted to save our second-best quality embryo (6AA) for a future FET, in case the FET wouldn’t have worked. I believe the order would have been: 5AA, 6AA, 5BA, 6AB. I am so incredibly glad that we elected CCS testing, because I felt a tiny bit more confident in the outcome of our pregnancy knowing that the embryos had at least tested as chromosomally normal. We have no regrets.

      • Anonymous said

        Auntiem10,

        Hope all is well with you! We are currently waiting for results from our CCS testing. We have 4 blasts graded 4AB, 3AB, 3BB and 3AB.

Leave a Reply

 
