My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

First Depot Lupron Injection, Check

Posted by auntiem10 on October 17, 2010

This morning I went to my local RE’s office for my first of two Depot Lupron injections. Everything went smoothly, except that I waited in a tiny room for 30 minutes before they gave me the shot (they treat me like a second-class patient, presumably because I’m not cycling there). This injection can be given anytime between Cycle Days 1-7, but administering the injection between CD 1-3 helps reduce the chances of breakthrough bleeding. Today is CD 3 for me, so hopefully I won’t have to deal with any unwanted spotting. I’ll have enough to deal with considering this medication causes menopausal symptoms like hot flashes, headaches, mood swings, achy muscles, and fatigue. It also repairs beta 3 integrins in the uterine lining (the proteins that create the “sticky stuff” needed for implantation), so hopefully all the yucky side effects will be worth it. Thirty days from now, I’ll have the second injection administered, and then I can start prepping for the embryo transfer 30 days later.

I figure I’ll post weekly about how the Depot Lupron is making me feel. From what I’ve read of others’ accounts, it’ll be at least a couple of weeks before I feel anything.

Tomorrow is our second wedding anniversary, and we feel like we have plenty to celebrate this year. We still have a few months to go before this process is over, but we finally feel like we’re over the hump. Thanks to CCRM’s amazing lab, we have five CCS normal embryos frozen in a lab in Colorado, and hopefully one or two of them will become our first child(ren) in 2011!

2 Responses to “First Depot Lupron Injection, Check”

  1. LC1 said

    Hope the depot doesn’t give you too many yucky side effects! It will be all worth it in the end when you have a little on or two in your arms!!

  2. […] embryos were biopsied for CCS testing, received CCS results SIX days later (five normals!), first Depot Lupron injection, received first FET calendar, more struggles over baby shower planning for SIL, received […]

Leave a Reply

 
