My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

My Thyroid’s A-OK

Posted by auntiem10 on November 17, 2010

This morning I went back to my endocrinologist’s office to find out the results of last week’s blood draw. I’ve been taking 50 mcg/day of Synthroid for six months after being diagnosed with Hasimoto’s hypothyroidism, and it was time to see if my dosage needed to be adjusted.

Fortunately, the Synthroid is really keeping my thyroid on track. Here were my levels and the reference ranges:

TSH = 2.320 (0.450 – 4.500)
Thyroxine (T4) Free = 1.28 (0.82 – 1.77)
Triiodothyronine (T3) = 94 (71 – 180)

My endocrinologist said that usually, they like to keep a patient’s TSH between 1.0-2.0 when they are TTC, but my level of 2.3 should pose no risk of preventing implantation for our embryo transfer. He said that my TPO level of 777 in May indicated severe thyroiditis (normal is <35), but at least it appears that my thyroid is still functioning at 50% of its potential, which is great news. The high TPO level indicates a large number of antibodies are attacking my thyroid, which can render it useless and make me totally dependent on medication as I get older. Synthroid doesn’t decrease the TPO level–once it’s elevated, it always will be. He felt the area around my thyroid for inflammation, and then felt my ankles for swelling. All is apparently good–no change in medication.

One interesting thing he said is that the out-of-control antibodies that were fighting against my thyroid last year almost certainly played a part in our first IVF cycle failing. I’ve mentioned it here before, but I had a conversation with my local RE at the time, asking her to prescribe me Synthroid after my thyroid panel showed a borderline TSH level and a very high TPO level (753 back then). She refused, which is just one additional reason that I’m so thankful I headed to CCRM for IVF #2.

If I successfully get pregnant after our FET (a thought I can’t quite wrap my mind around yet), then I will need to have my thyroid levels rechecked again every few months during the pregnancy. If I don’t get pregnant, then I’ll just need to go back next November.

Speaking of our FET, today is November 17th, which means we’re two months away from the big day (January 17th)! Every time we pass one of these milestones, my excitement builds a little. We are back to considering an elective single-embryo transfer, but I’ll post more about that in a future entry.

5 Responses to “My Thyroid’s A-OK”

  1. LisainSK said

    Yeah!! Last night I was hunting through old medical records and saw that my TSH last January/February 2009 was like 2.34. So to have it come at over 5 during this June’s ODWU at CCRM is interesting. But I’m on Synthroid just in case. Looking forward to your eSET post. Such a tough decision…I know!

  2. A.E. said

    Do you KNOW how quickly two months can go by?!?!
    I just spent a second thinking aobut the elective single embryo transfer and, boy, is that a toughie!
    So many points could be argued either way, but WHAT a wonderful problem to have, you know?

  3. Cassie said

    That is great news! And yes, these two months are going to fly by, probably faster than other months because of all the holidays. I’m so excited for you!

  4. Lica said

    I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism 10 years ago. Since the first year, it has been controlled without any other issues. Since both blasts transferred stuck at my first FET and I am now 36 weeks, I don’t think that it had much impact–just like the drs say. I have had my thyroid panel checked just 2x during the pg, and there have been no adjustments needed and I have had no complications. Glad to know everything is looking good! Although, I will say that my doc likes to keep my TSH a little lower for conception–usually just under 1. Good luck and I am keeping my fingers crossed for you for sure!

  5. thyroid-s said

    It can be used for controlling intolerance to
    cold which is a common symptom of hypothyroidism.
    If a women can include more of these foods in her diet it
    can have a huge impact on her general health and baldness.
    When most people hear the word calcium, they
    think of bones.

Leave a Reply

 
