My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Riding on Their Coattails (Pgs mentioned)

Posted by auntiem10 on November 23, 2010

I’m guessing that many visitors who happen upon this blog are here because they are considering CCRM and wondering if it’s “worth it.” After all, an IVF cycle at CCRM can be quite a burden–it’s quite expensive compared to many clinics, and you have to travel several times to Denver and stay for an extended period of time while stimming. Definitely not an easy investment on a financial, logistical, or emotional level. It makes sense that you would want to read about others’ success before making such a huge decision.

I am still seven weeks, six days away from our FET, so I can’t provide much reassurance to you (yet!!!). But today, I thought I would highlight the recent success of some of my friends in blogland, in the hopes that you’ll feel more excited (and possibly reassured?!) after reading their stories. I am riding on their coattails while waiting for our transfer, my excitement increasing with each BFP, and I hope their stories give you hope as well.

My friend Cassie is in her second trimester after trying and trying again, and finding success in a donor IVF cycle at CCRM.

My friend mylifechronicles recently saw two heartbeats after a successful transfer of two CCS normal embryos (a 3AB and 5BB). Crossing my fingers that things continue to go well!

My friend Maggie is also celebrating two heartbeats after a successful transfer of two CCS normal embryos (a 5AA and 5BB).

My friend Lindsay is ALSO celebrating two heartbeats after a successful transfer of two CCS normal embryos (her normals were graded 5BA, 4BB, and 3BB–not exactly sure which were transferred). Can you believe all of the twins?!

My friend Susie is nearing her due date with boy/girl twins–two CCS normal embryos, graded 3AA and 5AA. Her success story occurred right around the time we were deep in planning/saving mode for our CCRM cycle, and her story gave me so much hope.

My friend Pie braved the yucky Depot Lupron side effects before her successful elective Single Embryo Transfer (eSET) of a CCS normal 4BB blast.

My friend Lisa is awaiting her first ultrasound this Friday after nicely rising HCG levels after her elective single embryo transfer of a CCS normal 5AA blast using DE. She’s currently experiencing spotting, so I hope she doesn’t mind me adding her to this list. (If so, let me know.)

And finally, I’m hoping that running_girl will be our next success story. Her first beta is Saturday after transferring 6AA and 5AB CCS normal blasts last week. Fingers crossed for a nice, high HCG level!

There are several others–forum buddies and people who have emailed me directly instead of commenting–who are also celebrating success. From my perspective, it was without a doubt “worth it” for us, and my hope is that these success stories will give you hope that it could be “worth it” for you, too.

9 Responses to “Riding on Their Coattails (Pgs mentioned)”

  1. LisainSK said

    Thanks Em…really hoping I’ll be one of those ladies that just spots all the time (well not really spotting could really take a hike) but you know what I mean.

  2. LC1 said

    It really is amazing, isn’t it?? Can’t wait for your success story very soon!!

  3. Pie said

    And there are even more of us too, like yogagrrl and Jill M and soulshine and PJsmom. the list does go on and on, and those stories really gave me the confidence to try CCRM. And at 32 weeks now, I am so glad I did!!

    I wish your blog was around when I was researching all this, you have done such a grat job documenting your experience, it will be so helpful for many.

  4. Alison5280 said

    I just stumbled upon your blog as I was doing research and considering having another ‘go’ at it with our two frozen embryos. First, congrats to all of you who are currently pregnant, and many blessings for continued healthy pregnancies. For those of you who are still not quite there, hang in there. I am lucky enough to live in Denver and, with the help of CCRM and an incredibly selfless egg donor, I gave birth to beautiful twin girls in 2008. It is worth the wait, worth the money, and worth the pain and difficulty! (We have two embryos still frozen and are preparing for the ‘final run’ next year.)

    We spent nearly 5 years trying to start our family, the first 3 years of which were with my regular OB and then another fertility group in town. I can tell you without hesitation that CCRM is WORTH EVERY PENNY! It is obvious 15 minutes into your first consultation that their expertise is so far above that of other groups it is no contest. Sure, you sometimes have to make a few phone calls too many to get information and sometimes the urgency you feel doesn’t seem to translate to them, but I can tell you from experience that it is still far better than elsewhere. (After my second pregnancy loss, when I was calling to get the results of my blood tests to make sure the HCG was going down as it should, the nurse at another office called and said, breezily, “Your beta was normal, so you aren’t pregnant! Better luck next month!” It is a good thing I don’t own a gun.) 😉

    My story is long and convoluted and painful, both physically and emotionally (as I am sure is the same for all of you). All I can tell you is that, if you have to be going through all of this, CCRM is who you want to be leading you through it. All the best to all of you!

  5. Running_girl said

    Thanks, Em. I needed to be reminded of all of the success stories this week! You do such a great job of providing us gals info.

  6. Cassie said

    It’s a little strange for me to finally be on the other side, the side that gives hope to others. I know you’ll be joining us soon!

  7. Maggie said

    Love this post…..you do an amazing job at documenting everything! I absolutely cannot wait for your transfer!!!! I have such high hopes for you!!!

  8. romik said

    As you know, I am just days away from my first FET at CCRM. I have been nervous and afraid to be hopeful. This post could not have come at a better time for me. It is so encouraging! I’m overwhelmed by the positive vibes you and your friends are sending. I really needed this. Thanks, Michele!!

  9. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and
    I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

 
