My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Coming Up This Week

Posted by auntiem10 on December 20, 2010

Sometime this week should mark the beginning of Week 1 of my pregnancy! : ) The embryo won’t be transferred until approximately Day 20 of my cycle, but if all goes as planned, Week 1 of being pg starts with the arrival of AF. I may be jinxing myself by writing that, but this is my attempt to stay positive.

I’m still on BCPs and Lupron, but I will swallow my last BCP tomorrow morning. Then I start waiting for AF, which I’m hoping will arrive on Friday at the latest. I’ve been concerned this entire time that I won’t have a “real” AF, since my body has been in menopause for the last two months. My calendar states that I must have a full flow before I can start the patches, but I’m wondering what I can expect. I’m only taking 12 BCPs, the minimum allowed by CCRM (b/c I’m impatient and want to move forward with this process), and I’m wondering if that will be enough time to build a lining to shed. Fellow DL patients, would you care to weigh in? Hopefully my lack of patience won’t result in a canceled cycle.

Also, if AF started before the estimated date on your calendar, was your FET moved up?

Once AF starts, I’ll wait until CD 3 and then start slapping on the Vivelle patches. I’ll also reduce my Lupron dosage to 5 units/day. And then we move forward from there. Only 23 days until we will be flying to Denver. Finally, after this incredibly long wait, our transfer is just around the corner!

In other news, diaper cakes are the devil. I spent Saturday rolling up size 1 baby diapers with my non-pregnant SIL to create the three-tier diaper cake that will be displayed on the gift table. Shopping for supplies in the baby aisle surrounded by boppys and onesies gave me a feeling of dread. Rolling up the teeny tiny Elmo-covered adorable diapers made my heart ache. My DH helped a little and exclaimed, “Wow, these are so small.” I think his heart may have been aching too. Even though our transfer is quickly approaching and our excitement is building, the sadness still lingers. Thirteen days until the baby shower–Lord give me strength and acting skills. : )

5 Responses to “Coming Up This Week”

  1. Pie said

    You are a saint, or at least a stronger person than me, for doing all this baby shower stuff. Hang in there, it is almost over.

    As for the AF, I never had an AF after the DL. And I don’t think it was expected/required to move forward for the FET. Are you sure this is required for you, given you’ve been on the DL? Have you directly asked your nurse, reminding her you’ve been on the DL? Although, I was on a different FET protocol than what you are on. I didn’t do BCP, I just started on the estrogen patches. So maybe it’s different?

  2. Jen said

    Wishing you all the best. And for our FET, I only had 10 days of BCP so I don’t think they always stick to their rules at CCRM!

  3. LC1 said

    I never got a full flow AF before I started the patches. Barely even spotting which I later foudn out was AF! I was not on BCP or lupron, but I don’t think you need to have a full flow. I didn’t know what was going on with my cycle so I did an u/s to confirm that my lining was thin and I could start the patches. I’ve heard of many ladies not having much of an AF and moving ahead with patches. So I would question your nurse if this happens to you…

  4. running_girl said

    Wow! I’m so excited for you! Hoping everything goes smoothly!

  5. […] I wrote incorrectly that Day 1 of my last cycle was also Day 1 of pregnancy. AF showed up on December 22, so I had been […]

Leave a Reply

 
