My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

One Patch Two Patch Three Patch Four

Posted by auntiem10 on January 5, 2011

This morning I removed the three patches I had placed on my lower abdomen two days ago, and applied four new patches. From here on out, I will place four new patches on my skin every other day until (hopefully!) approximately Week 9 of pregnancy. One box contains eight Vivelle patches, so I’ll be using one box every four days for the near future. That’s a lot of hormones (and $$$)!

The only side effects I can report are that I feel really good and that I’m having a lot of CM (TMI, I know). Adding estrogen back into my body has provided complete relief from the hot flashes I was experiencing with Depot Lupron, and the 5 units of regular Lupron I’m currently injecting daily don’t affect me at all. I’m assuming the abundance of CM is normal????? Hopefully it just means that my body is prepared to handle this little embryo next week.

I’m working on my mental attitude toward this transfer. I am somewhat of an optimist by nature, but I struggle with that when it comes to IF. I thought by this point–after CCS testing, Depot Lupron treatment, and great-quality embies–I would be feeling super-optimistic about next week’s FET. But suddenly, I’m worried about whether something is fundamentally just wrong with ME–a clotting issue or some other problem that hasn’t yet been identified. I feel like everything up until now has gone way too easy and textbook for us, and something big is about to go wrong. I guess I’m afraid I used up all my good luck during the ER and CCS results?! Or maybe my brain is protecting itself from possible failure. Pregnancy is all we’ve been striving toward, and I feel like we’re not lucky enough to have it happen for us. The idea of experiencing pregnancy seems about as likely as winning the Me.ga Mill.ions jackpot right now. I’m just bracing myself for the rug to be pulled out from under us. I am pretty freaked out about everything, but am trying to find my normal positive nature in time for next week. The stakes are so high, but we already won the lottery in part by having four more normals after the one we’ll transfer next week. I need to remember to count my blessings and trust in fate.

Eight more days! And, we leave for Denver one week from today!

7 Responses to “One Patch Two Patch Three Patch Four”

  1. Pie said

    Honestly, your mindset right now seems just about right. If you were only optimistic, then I’d be more concerned. IF has knocked us all down, and we have the scars to prove it. You can’t shake that, and that’s normal. But you can remember you have done everything you can at this point, and are going into this FET with your best odds yet. 8 days!!!

  2. Cassie said

    The CM is totally normal – it’s your body’s reaction to all that estrogen. And yes, as Pie said you have done everything right so far, so all you can do is sit back and enjoy the ride. I’m rooting for you!

  3. LC1 said

    I agree- the CM is normal and a good sign the e2 is going up! It’s normal to have a rollercoaster of emotions- from feeling so optimistic to complete doubt that this could work. I felt the same way.
    Can’t wait until your big day!!!

  4. LisainSK said

    I had tonnes of CM too…I used it as my guage after the BFP as I figured when it was getting low, etc. Who knew CM was so cool!! Such a nerd I know. Your feelings…normal!! Take each day at a time…you’re almost there.

  5. Only 8 more days to go! I am counting down the days with you. You have done everything you can so far… your embies are great, your body is great… it will work! Thinking abt you and sending you all the positive vibes.

  6. Me said

    hopeful for you…

  7. Rambler said

    A week! I hope you continue to keep your balance, but I can understand the emtions between it WILL work, it might NOT work, it will work but then WHAT?? 🙂

    All I can say is you are not alone, you have DH by your side, you have very good odds, and a very good clinic! Don’t wait for that rug to be pulled out, just live and let be. Easier said than done, right?

Leave a Reply

 
