My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

My Estradiol is an Underachiever

Posted by auntiem10 on January 7, 2011

Well, my lining looks great, but my estradiol level is a little low today. The optimal result should be >300, and my level is 216. So tonight after work, I’ll be picking up a new medication called Estrace and taking it orally for an undetermined length of time. However, the good news is that I received the all-clear for our FET next week! Yay!

We also discussed our wishes for the number of embryos to transfer. The plan that my DH and I feel the most comfortable with is this: We want the lab to thaw one embryo the morning of transfer. If it thaws well and looks good, then we will only transfer that one embryo. If it does not thaw well or looks not so great, then we will request that they thaw a second one, and we will transfer both. Yes, we are nervous about twins if we have to resort to this plan, but we are nervous about transferring an embryo that looks bad and ending up with a BFN. I think the first one they will thaw is a Day 5 5AA, so I’m hopeful that it will thaw beautifully and that our eSET wishes will be granted. We won’t transfer two unless the embryologist recommends it based on the way the first embryo looks. My nurse wrote these wishes in my file, and I will also express them to the embryologist the morning of the transfer.

So, Lupron and I have parted ways for now. Tomorrow I’ll start PIO shots, Estrace, Medrol, Tetracycline, and Endometrin. Sunday I will have my blood drawn to check my progesterone. Tuesday I will receive the transfer instructions, including the time of our transfer and which doctor will perform the procedure (I’m assuming Dr. Surrey will unless he has a conflict). Wednesday we will fly out, and Thursday is the transfer!

I’m going to spend this weekend (in between the shots and pills and nerves and planning!) trying to forget about all of this! Tonight we’re hanging out with friends, tomorrow we have lots of errands to run + a house to clean for our petsitter, and Sunday we have playoff football + college basketball to watch. I hope this is my last unpregnant weekend for the next 9 months. : )

18 Responses to “My Estradiol is an Underachiever”

  1. LisainSK said

    Estrace…easy fix! Don’t sweat it! Glad to read your lining was great today. Have a great weekend!

  2. Jem said

    I agree – Estrace is a piece of cake! Congrats on the amazing lining.

  3. let there be Sims said

    I am just curious why you are avoiding twins? I understand that it is a personal choice, I am just wonfering why? I am curious more than anything. The way DH and I see it is that we would rather go thru the risk and expense of twins than have nothing. Icommend you because u know what u want. I just want to know why. And if I am being too bold just tell me to shush đŸ˜‰

  4. Little Diiorios said

    Will be thinking of you! How is it that you are on all that stuff for a FET! I guess I’ll eventually find out but it’s surprising. You’ve got the right idea – relax.

    • auntiem10 said

      It does seem like a lot of meds, doesn’t it?! But at least there is only one injection, unlike IVF. I think the Medrol and Tetracycline are just antibiotics. The progesterone + Endometrin provide support to our embryo in the early stages of pregnancy. The Estrace should bump up my estradiol level for the embryo, and the Vivelle patches are also helping with estrogen/lining support. You will be here soon enough! : )

  5. Pie said

    YAY – you got the all clear and are heading to Denver! So great! And a little estrace is no biggie, given everything else you’ve had to do to get here. Have a great weekend – and try to relax some too.

  6. Cassie said

    Hooray! Yes, they added Estrace for me too and it was no big deal. You’ll be right where you should be by transfer time. I’m hoping your 5AA thaws wonderfully and you get your eSET!

    • auntiem10 said

      I am glad to hear that they added Estrace for you too and that your levels increased by the time of the ET. I hope the same is true for me. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Reese said

    De-lurking here. So excited for you! I am contemplating CCRM, so it is exciting to read your journey. I will look forward to hearing about your transfer. I hope it is perfect!

  8. Kate said

    I’ve been lurking on your site Auntiem and I’m rooting for you!! You go girl! Way to keep up with all the shots pills u/s and all you had to patiently endure to finally reach your FET date coming up next week!
    I’m at CCRM too and was planning on my FET in Feb but I only got one normal from my ER in November so I decided to do another stim cycle w/ IMSI and CCS testing again to see if we are lucky enough to get another normal. My ER is in Feb and my FET may or June.
    I will have to take the depot Lupron and your descriptions of the side effects don’t have me too psyched but I’m glad to know so I can brace myself for it.
    A big thank you for sharing your experience! It really helps both me and my husband and probably countless others that are lurking too!
    So good luck to you Auntiem! You are pretty lucky to have 4 normals so that should ease your mind a bit. I think your plan in checking the quality of the thawed embie sounds good but I guess that means youre prepared to accept twins if that’s the outcome?
    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you and love the sound of this being your last unpregnant weekend for 9 months!!
    Sticky vibes!!
    Kate

    Then to prepare

  9. Flygirl555 said

    Yippe for being of Lupron! Can’t wait until I’m off it too…

    You’re so, so close!

Leave a Reply

 
