My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

The Transfer Details

Posted by auntiem10 on January 11, 2011

I just heard from CCRM about an hour ago about our transfer details. I was thinking they forgot! They stressed me out because a nurse (not my regular one as she is ill) called me while I was in rush hour traffic on my way home from work. I asked her to just e-mail me the details because I obviously couldn’t whip out a pen and write everything down while zooming down the interstate. When I arrived home, I immediately checked my e-mail, and I read these words: “Please call us tomorrow as we must confirm that you started your progesterone on the correct day.” I immediately thought, is this going to affect the day of my transfer? Of course, it was after hours, so I was stressing about reaching someone. In desperation, I e-mailed the general IVF nurse inbox and asked that someone call me if they were still around. Luckily, just a few minutes later, the same nurse called me. She explained that the day you start progesterone can affect the day of transfer. I told her I started progesterone exactly as my calendar indicated (on the 8th), and she told me that the 13th will still be fine. Sigh of relief! I’m not sure what the confusion was all about, since they obviously could have just pulled out my calendar, but oh well.

Our transfer is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. Mountain Time with Dr. Surrey. I’ve opted not to do acupuncture, so we just need to be at the clinic at 1:00 p.m. I’ll have my blood drawn and then head up to the area where our transfer will be held. I’m supposed to start drinking water on the way over so my bladder will be full enough. No information about which particular embryo will be transferred, even though I’ve asked for this information for a month. Oh well. I assume our Day 5 5AA is our best option and will be transferred first. The embryology lab will call Thursday morning to seek approval to start the thawing process, so I will find out for sure then.

Please send me your best positive vibes at 2:00 p.m. Mountain Time on Thursday!!!! My next post will be from the Homewood Suites in Denver tomorrow! : )

21 Responses to “The Transfer Details”

  1. Marcia said

    I will be thinking about you guys and sending positive vibes at 2:00 pm on Thursday (mountain time). Thanks for the post and for keeping us all updated. I’ll be watching for your next post. You ARE ready.

  2. R said

    Good luck. I think the transfer needs to be on the 5th day of progesterone so that is why they were checking. Glad you got the ok to proceed!!!

  3. cgd said

    wishing you the very best of luck with this FET. I hope all goes smoothly. Sounds like a wild ride so far.

  4. Rambler said

    Good Luck! The weather is supposed to be very nice for the next couple of days so you are coming just at the right time! This is the moment you have been waiting for and I’m glad to see that finish line start to fade in from the distance.

    Think positive thoughts, keep your chin up!

  5. A.E. said

    It’s happening, it’s happening!
    Thoughts and prayers are with you…

  6. LC1 said

    Yay! Your times is finally here!!!!! I agree with R, your transfer needs to be 5 days after starting progesterone to be in the window of implantation. The transfer date is dependent on when progesterone is started. Glad you got it figured out…frustrating when there are scares/confusion like that. Will be looking forward to your updates!!! Have a great trip to Denver! I loved Homewood Suites too! Will be thinking of you and your embie Thursday at 2pm CO time!!!

  7. Little Diiorios said

    hey good luck my dear…we’ll be thinking of you.

  8. Wishing and waiting said

    Just wanted to let you know that I have been reading your blog for the last few weeks. I just left Denver today after my retrieval and will be doing Lupron for 2 months then transfer just as you are. I was beta 3 integrin negative. You are in my thoughts and prayers. And I will again say a prayer for you during that time. God bless

  9. Anonymous said

    All the best dear. I will be praying all goes well with ur transfer and u get ur much deserved BFP.

  10. looknomore said

    All the best dear. I will be praying all goes well with ur transfer and u get ur much deserved BFP.

  11. LisainSK said

    Good luck!!!

  12. Cassie said

    I’m sending you super sticky vibes and all the best for a smooth transfer. My advice to you is not to drink TOO much water before you get there. Just bring a bottle with you and start drinking it in the waiting room. They will do an ultrasound when you first get in the room, to let you know if you have enough water in your bladder, and if you need to drink more (or even pee a little out), they will let you know. I found that your bladder really doesn’t need to be like you feel you are going to burst. And you have to lie there for a while after transfer, so you don’t want to be super-uncomfortable. They will let you use the bedpan after a little while, and you will still have to lie there for another 30 mins or so after the bedpan, so you should definitely use it if you can. It was always a huge relief for me.
    Good luck!!!

  13. run4funia@aol.com said

    This is IT! I will definatley be thinking about you!

  14. Jen said

    Hoorah hoorah! I can’t believe it’s here already! Yay! And I swear CCRM tries to freak you out. I know with our last FET I was worried about them calling and telling me none survived the thaw, so when they did call I was panicked. But there were just verifying we were thawing them both. Duh. And like Cassie said, don’t drink too much. I ended up peeing twice before transfer. And I’ve only done this a million times so I should know better…
    Good luck tomorrow! I’ll be thinking of you both!

  15. romik said

    Countdown is finally over! It’s your time. I will be thinking of you and your DH tomorrow at 2:00pm and will be sending lots of positive transfer vibes! GOOD LUCK!

  16. kate said

    Many sticky vibes to you Auntiem!! may there be angels surrounding you and blessing you with a successful transfer of your new baby!! stay positive and relaxed like you have been. I am praying for you and see it working out beautifully!!

  17. harry potter movie

    The Transfer Details « My CCRM IVF Journey

Leave a Reply

 
