My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Rocky Mountain High

Posted by auntiem10 on January 12, 2011

First of all, thank you all so much for the supportive comments/e-mails!!!!!!!!!

We are here!!! Our flight was delayed a bit, so it was kind of a long day. We took some aerial pictures from the air of the mountains and airport, but I’ll wait to share those since our Internet connection is slow as a turtle. We’re at the Homewood Suites, and it’s really nice. I will try to take some pictures of our room to share at a later date, so that you can compare it to the Staybridge (where I stayed for the first part of this process).

Okay, confession time: we completely changed our minds about something. We are going to transfer TWO embryos tomorrow. When the lab calls in the morning, we’ll ask them to thaw our best embryo and a lesser-quality embryo. We have been talking about all our original reasons for choosing to transfer only one embryo, and we examined all angles of each reason. At the end of the day, we decided that we would rather have twins than have gone through the past nine months in vain. Even transferring two is still no guarantee, but we just want the best odds. Our absolute worst case scenario is that this fails. If we have twins, fine. If we have a singleton, even better. If they both have broken bones, we will figure out how to deal with it. We can handle anything else that comes our way, and I believe we aren’t given more than we can handle. I feel bad that it may be annoying to read how we’ve see-sawed back and forth with this decision, but the one advantage of this long wait is that we’ve had the luxury of time to consider all angles. So there we go. I have already assigned my hubby the task of photographing our embryos tomorrow and will share them here while on bedrest. : )

Now that we’re here and this decision has been made, I’m no longer stressed out or nervous. I’m excited!!! I’m praying for our embryos to thaw well and for things to go smoothly, but I’m comfortable knowing that I’m in the best possible hands and that we’ve done everything we could to make this work. That is a good feeling!

16 Responses to “Rocky Mountain High”

  1. I will be thinking about you tomorrow and wishing you the best. I’m glad you feel confident with you decision and I’m very excited for both of you! Sending “sticky” thoughts your way…

  2. LC1 said

    Glad to hear you made it safely to Denver and you’re all settled in your hotel. Good luck tomorrow!!! I can definitely understand your decision to transfer two since that’s what we did! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers for tomorrow! Look forward to hearing how it went!!!

  3. Let There Be Sims said

    Hi – I am praying for you too! I am so happy that you changed your mind to xfer 2 embies — anything that will increase your odds 🙂 Sending you lots of baby vibes.

  4. LisainSK said

    So glad to read you are safe and sound in Denver. Also glad to read that you now feel at peace with your decision on how many to transfer…such a tough decision! Sending you sticky vibes at 2PM MTN tomorrow!

  5. A.E. said

    We’re all just happy to know that you are there safely with peace in your heart about your decision.
    Whatever feels good to both of you is the right thing! It’s 3AM here in KC, so it shouldn’t be much longer!!!

  6. Dee said

    Best wishes.

  7. cgd said

    So glad you are there safe and sound and that you guys are comfortable with trasnfering 2. I think it makes a lot of sense to that, its when you get to 3 or 4 that things get trickier.
    wishing you the very best of luck!!!!!

  8. Marcia said

    I’m so excited for you guys. I’ll be praying for you all day today.

  9. Alison5280 said

    Welcome to Denver!! I am thinking very happy sticky baby vibes for you today!!! Best of luck to you! As a twin mom myself, I totally get the decision to put in two. I agree, that although the thought of twins was overwhelming, the thought of none was devastating, so we also erred on the side of caution. Little did we know, after 5 years of abject failure, we were finally going to hit the jackpot! I hope that you have a BFP to report soon!

    On a personal note, we met with Dr Minjarez at CCRM on Monday and we have made the decision to move forward with FET, too! I am so excited that we will be trying to use our remaining two ‘totcicles’. 😉 Maybe I will start a blog… hmmm… 😉

  10. Cassie said

    I’m sending you the best possible vibes today! I’m excited for you and the decision you have made.

  11. Susie said

    I just got chills reading this post and the previous one because it’s been a while since I checked your blog and you are there right NOW for the transfer!! I am sending positive thoughts and prayers your way. And you’re transferring TWO. Wow! I am so excited for you. Can’t wait to follow closely over the next days and week. (I am back to the blogosphere after too much time away!) Big hugs!

  12. Mo said

    thinking of you today and sending positive transfer thoughts. may it go perfectly!!

  13. drewiekc said

    Thinking of you guys today!

  14. running_girl said

    I’m so excited that today is finally here for you. I think you guys did much thinking, so you should feel good about your decisions.

  15. Jen said

    I am so happy that the big day is finally here! And you previously knew my thoughts on one versus two – but so happy to hear you came to a decision that you both are content with! Sticky sticky thoughts!

  16. Kim said

    I’m a little late to the party, but snuggle those TWO embryos in close! I think there’s nothing annoying about debating between one embryo vs two; it’s a big decision about something you desperately want and have been waiting for for a long 9 months(+). I hope everything went well yesterday, and I will be keeping you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
