My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

5dp5dt (Four Days ‘Til Test Day)

Posted by auntiem10 on January 18, 2011

This morning I called and scheduled my pregnancy test. 8:00 a.m. on Saturday!!!! Ironically, my dad (who knows nothing about our IVF cycle) will be at my house through at least part of the day. He’s flying in Friday night from NY, staying overnight with us, and heading to my grandpa’s house on Saturday. My uncle, who lives 20 minutes away, is picking him up to drive to my grandpa’s, but I’m not sure yet what time that is happening. We wish to wait until we are alone when we receive our beta results, so I plan to ask our nurse to leave us a voicemail. If it’s negative, then we definitely don’t want to find that out while hosting my dad. If it’s positive, then we want to be alone and celebrate!

Thanks to everyone who chimed in about the mild cramping I was having at 3dp5dt. I now know not to get too excited about it. The mild cramping has continued, with particular intensity yesterday morning. I’ve also been rather thirsty and have soreness in my chest. I know all of these symptoms are likely progesterone-related. However, I don’t remember any cramping while on PIO for IVF #1, so I (being an optimist) am taking it as a good sign. My friend IRL told me the only time she felt cramping while taking PIO was during her BFP cycle after cycling at CCRM, so that gives me some extra hope!

This 9-day wait until beta does not really seem all that bad to me. I think I learned some patience during our long, long wait to get to this point. Or maybe I’m just satisfied being full of hope and optimism right now, dreaming of the happy phone call we may receive on Saturday. If our news is going to end well, then I’ll be happy to leave this limbo. But if our news is going to end negatively, then I want to stay right here forever, where excitement and happiness abound and pessimism and negativity are far, far away.

6 Responses to “5dp5dt (Four Days ‘Til Test Day)”

  1. LC1 said

    The cramping sounds like a good sign to me 🙂 Hope you can get your news while you guys are alone. I am very hopeful it will be good news! I like your optimistic attitude!!!

  2. I had mild cramping on day 2 after the transfer. And so I am very hopeful for you! I love love love your attitude… keep it going!

  3. Anonymous said

    I love how positive you are! That exactly what made me decide to start my blog — because I needed to surround myself with positive people like you. 🙂

  4. LetThereBeSims said

    I love how positive you are! That is exactly what made me decide to start my blog and read other blogs like yours — to surround myself with positive people like you!!! 🙂

  5. Tarah said

    I had no cramping during the bfn, it felt exactly like the period was coming. For the bfp, I had days of cramping, sharp little feelings. Sounds good for you!

  6. Susie said

    Your excitement is contagious. Good for you! Can’t wait to hear!! Also, I’m not sure what time zone you’re in, but that may play into when you get the results. I had my Beta very early on a Saturday at my local clinic and they faxed the results right over to CCRM. The nurse at CCRM called and said, “What time did you go to the doctor?” because we are 2 hours ahead of Denver. I think my results were there at CCRM before they started seeing patients and she called with the good news early. I think it was mid-morning in Atlanta and I was expecting to have to wait until mid-afternoon because of the time difference… Not that any of this is any indication of what will happen this Saturday. Here’s hoping you don’t have to wait long and you get the news when you and your husband can react to it alone.

Leave a Reply

 
