My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

The Elusive Second Line

Posted by auntiem10 on January 27, 2011

I have added a separate page on this blog in order to share pregnancy-related pictures. You can check it out here or just click the “Pregnancy Stuff” tab at the top of the page. So far all I’ve posted are the positive home pregnancy tests I’ve taken since our first beta this past Saturday, but I plan to share milestone ultrasounds and that sort of thing assuming things continue smoothly. I don’t want to post these types of things on my main blog page because I want to give readers the option of seeing that sort of thing. I definitely experienced days during which others’ positive tests brought me down, so hopefully this will be a way that I can still share and yet be sensitive.

Nothing much is new with me this week. On Monday, I’ll have my progesterone and estrogen re-tested to make sure it’s within normal limits. It’s still too early for morning sickness, but I’ve had a gross taste in my mouth this week, and my appetite is very off. I’m just not hungry and salty foods (which I usually love) are bothersome to me. I’m very thirsty as well, and I was up all night with heartburn after eating pizza for dinner last night. I’ve had a few mild headaches (which I read are hormone-induced), and I have been going to bed much earlier–passing out while reading by like 10:00 p.m. I am thrilled about these changes to my body! We still have 13 days until our first ultrasound, so we’re just kind of in a holding pattern until then.

Assuming we see a heartbeat or two on Feb. 9th, I plan to lessen the number of weekly blog entries that I write. I always intended for this to be a CCRM treatment blog and not a pregnancy blog. I will still write about milestone days, but I won’t write about day-in-day-out pregnancy stuff. My hope is that CCRMers will find this blog in the future, learn from it, and gain hope from our story.

11 Responses to “The Elusive Second Line”

  1. LisainSK said

    The changes sound like a great plan to me! Take care.

  2. Littlediiorios said

    Your story has been very inspiring, informative and very thoughtful! Your sensitivity is very caring.

  3. Littlediiorios said

    Your story has been very inspiring, informative and very thoughtful! Your sensitivity is truly caring.

  4. Anonymous said

    Love the ++ hpt pics!!! I remember before my first BFP and after 2 BFNs I couldn’t imagine ever having those 2 lines!!! It’s a beautiful site! Congrats! So happy for u!

  5. Josey said

    This blog has already helped me – again, thank you!!

    I look forward to following your pregnancy updates as well. 🙂

  6. Deana said

    I was extremely thirsty the first couple of weeks after my positive beta too. That was my first “symptom”. Yay, I can’t wait until February 9th!!! So excited for you!

  7. Marie said

    “My hope is that CCRMers will find this blog in the future, learn from it, and gain hope from our story.”

    I have my first appointment at CCRM in a week. And I know have hope. Thank you.

  8. Jen said

    Thank you for this wonderfully written and super inspiring blog. I am at CCRM right now awaiting my ER tomorrow afternoon. This made me smile and gave me lots of hope. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

 
