My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

5w2d Blood Test Results

Posted by auntiem10 on January 31, 2011

My hormone levels looked great today!

Progesterone = 28.57 (should be >20 because I’m injecting PIO)
Estrogen = 626 (should be >300)
HCG = 11,050!

I requested a recheck of my HCG level because I found myself feeling very anxious this past Friday. I never knew how difficult it would be to stay positive during the 2.5-week-wait between the second HCG check and the first ultrasound. I don’t really feel different yet at 5 weeks 2 days, and it still seems so farfetched to think that this actually worked. All of my doubts and fears caught up with me on Friday, so I asked my nurse to allow me to have my HCG level rechecked along with my other hormone levels this morning. I also bought home pregnancy tests and tested to see the very dark second line! My nurse cautioned me that since we hadn’t been measuring HCG every 48 hours, today’s result may not tell me a lot. Plus, eventually HCG levels stop doubling and sort of plateau. So I definitely wasn’t expecting it to increase from 751 last Monday to over 11,000 today! That is a doubling time of 43.31 hours since last Monday (and we want a doubling time of 48 hours or less ideally), so I am really happy about that. Hearing that number was just what I need to get through the next nine days until our first scan!

Originally I was supposed to have my blood drawn again next Monday to recheck the hormone levels, but my nurse said we can just wait until Ultrasound Day since everything looked so great today. She also faxed orders for the ultrasound, so I can schedule it tomorrow! Exciting!

9 Responses to “5w2d Blood Test Results”

  1. cgd said

    wow, amazing news!!!! wishing you smooth sailing over the next 9 months.
    Thanks you for your feedback about CCRM. We will be doing one more cycle at Cornell b/c my RE is able to get the costs covered for us. We will consider CCRM after that if needed.
    so excited for you!!!!

  2. LisainSK said

    Great numbers Em…

  3. magfuller said

    I am sooo happy for you!!! I can’t wait for your u/s!!

  4. Holly said

    I’m so glad you posted the progesterone, and what it should be at ideally at this point! I just had mine drawn today, but through my family doc, and am really not expecting them to be helpful on this front. Just trying to gather as much information as I can so that I can tell what the number MEANS when I get it back. Your numbers look great!!!

    Congrats again!

    • auntiem10 said

      Hi Holly! Okay, if you are taking Progesterone suppositories, then your level only has to be >5. I am injecting PIO daily (plus inserting one Endometrin at bedtime), so that’s why my level is supposed to be >20. I just wanted to let you know so that if your levels are lower, you won’t be upset! I hope you see this!

  5. A.E. said

    Girrrrrrrl, this is IT!
    Awesome!

  6. LC1 said

    Congrats on reassuring levels!! Can’t wait for your u/s!!!

  7. Stephanie said

    Hi!

    Just found your blog and and so happy for you, BFP… YES! I can’t wait to see if you see 1 heartbeat or 2. Such a blessing…. sending good thoughts and prayers your way!

    A former CCRM’er,
    Steph

  8. Stephanie said

    HI Again…

    I noticed that you visited my CarePage 🙂 I used CarePages the same way that you use your blog – a full documentation. I thought I’d let you know that I have another CarePage, TwinsPlus1, that is documenting our current journey thanks to Dr. Surrey.

    Take good care and again, I wish you the VERY best… I’ll be looking for the heartbeat count! 🙂
    Steph

Leave a Reply

 
