My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

On the Brink (9w1d)

Posted by auntiem10 on February 27, 2011

Tomorrow I should graduate from CCRM! On Friday my hormone levels still looked good. Estradiol was 2759 (should be >300) and Progesterone was 29.5 (should be >20 since I was injecting PIO). I was instructed to remove the last Vivelle patch, so now the only thing I’m taking is 81 mg aspirin. My last hormone check should be tomorrow (if my local clinic received the orders, which I won’t know until the morning). My progesterone did dip quite a bit since my last check–it went from 46 last Tuesday to 29.5 on Friday. However, my nurse reassured me that everything was fine and that as long as the level stays above 20, I don’t need to worry.

I had my first barfing-in-my-car-while-driving-down-the-road experience on Friday. Definitely NOT the highlight of my life. I had just eaten lunch and had been dealing with a funky stomach all day. I ran an errand and ended up feeling very suddenly ill while heading home. I had nowhere to pull over, so I was forced to continue driving as I was getting sick. Luckily, my mom had given me a package of small trash bags as a stocking stuffer for Christmas, and I managed to avoid getting sick all over myself. It was still very disgusting, though! Sorry for grossing anyone out.

Overall, I am feeling pretty icky lately, but I also feel very lucky to even be in my shoes. Tuesday is our first appointment at the perinatologist’s office, and I’m hoping we’ll get an ultrasound so we can see those two hearts beating again.

I’ve been wondering what I’ll say to my nurse tomorrow, if I do graduate. How do you thank someone who has provided you with such an incredible gift? CCRM has completely changed the course of our lives, for the better. “Thank you” just seems so inadequate, yet I’m guessing they are used to blubbering women trying to produce the right words. My heart is just overflowing with happiness and gratitude, and I wish there were words to express what I’m feeling inside.

7 Responses to “On the Brink (9w1d)”

  1. A.E. said

    You’ve got such a way with words…truly…I know you’ll say just the right thing.
    I would imagine, just like any other job, the words “thank you” never get old.
    Hearing your heartfelt gratitude is great motivation to keep up the outstanding work they’re doing!
    A BIG THANK YOU FROM THE JAYHAWK FAMILY, CCRM!!!
    You’ve increased us by two!

  2. Anonymous said

    I had three spontaneous vomits in my trimester too…I was nauseas but only to the point of vomitting three times. But there was ZERO warning so I know how this could totally happen. I to this day still keep a ziploc bag in my purse just in case! And my graduation email to my nurse and CCRM was super appreciative too. I was a blubbering mess when I wrote it. Believe me the words will just flow. And WOW!!! 9 WEEKS?! Incredible!

  3. Wishing and waiting said

    Congrats on the upcoming graduation. I am sure you will find the right words to say to your nurse. I am so happy for you

  4. LetThereBeSims said

    I will be doing cartwheels down the hallway when you graduate! Whatever you say, your nurse will appreciate your kindness and gratitude. I am thrilled that you are at 9weeks +; Wow, time flies. I feel like it was just yesterday that you went for your transfer.

  5. Littlediiorios said

    Hey thanks for the visual…I love it. Great stocking stuffer. A nice letter to your nurse and doctor would be a great way to say thank you.

  6. LC1 said

    Congrats on finishing your meds!! YOur hormone levels look great! Sorry to hear about the nausea!! Yuck! Thanks for sharing your barfing story- LOL!! I’m sure you’ll come up with a beautiful thank you letter 🙂

  7. Jen said

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

 
