My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

12 Weeks! (And Last Baby Aspirin)

Posted by auntiem10 on March 19, 2011

I feel so incredibly grateful that we’ve made it to 12 weeks today! This morning I swallowed my final 81mg aspirin, so now the only medicine I will take daily are my prenatal vitamins, just like any other pregnant woman. (CCRM recommends that you take one 81mg aspirin/day until you hit the 12-week mark, FYI.) We are not sure why we’ve been so lucky that things have gone this smoothly for us, but we are thankful.

I’m still sick, but it’s subsiding slightly. My nighttime nausea is still very much present, but I feel better in the mornings and afternoons. I’ve found that I need to eat as soon as I feel actual hunger, or else I won’t be able to keep food down. I learned that lesson the hard way this morning when I elected to ignore my hungry belly and shower/dry my hair first. When I tried to eat, the food promptly came right back up. Gross! I just need to get better about carrying snacks with me and never letting my tummy get too empty.

We received our nursery furniture today. One changing table, one dresser, and two cribs are in their boxes in our computer room (which will become our nursery). The furniture won’t be put together for a long time, but it’s a relief to have this task crossed off the list already. We still need a glider, mattresses, bedding, and many other things, but the main pieces are here. We changed our minds about the used jogging stroller we had purchased from Craigslist, and decided to order a Baby Jogger City Mini Double instead. We decided this was a better investment because this stroller is narrower, allowing it to fit in doorways, and it’s also lightweight, so we can use it when we walk our doggies. The stroller should arrive on Wednesday, and every package in the mail is another reminder that this is really happening! It all still seems so shocking.

I was offered (and accepted) a new job last week! I start mid-April and am really excited about the opportunity. I can’t believe how everything seems to be falling into place in our lives. Of course, things will never be perfect, but I am happier right now than I’ve been in a very long time. I feel very content.

Tuesday is our next ultrasound and the NT scan. I hope things are still going well inside my ute, and I’m kind of nervous. I’ve considered renting a doppler, but my uterus is retroverted, and I’m not sure I’ll be able to pick up anything. No doctor has even used the doppler on me at this point, and I’m just afraid that I’ll panic if I can’t pick up the heartbeats. I’m thinking that if all is well Tuesday, I may finally relax a bit, but we will see. : )

13 Responses to “12 Weeks! (And Last Baby Aspirin)”

  1. R said

    Congrats on 12 weeks and the new job! Good luck on Tuesday.

  2. That’s interesting about the baby aspirin, good to know. That’s so exciting! 12 weeks 🙂 & a new job on it’s way. When something works out things sometimes just start falling into place, enjoy! and keep us updated.

  3. Lindsay (lc1) said

    Congrats on 12 weeks!!!! Hope those tricks get a handle on that nausea! How fun to get your furniture and stroller!!! I think I’ll try to get a bob stroller on craigslist for walks. I did get the Baby Jogger City Select stroller…. I like that it can hold two infant carseats. But I’ve heard great things about the one you picked out!!
    Congrats on the new job!!! So wonderful to hear that life is happy!!!! I feel the same way:)
    My uterus is retroverted too and I haven’t had a problem detecting it on the doppler. Good luck for Tuesday!!!

  4. wishing and waiting said

    I am so happy for you. I am 4 weeks out from my 2nd Lupron and just started BCPs. Thank you for giving me hope!

  5. Littlediiorios said

    Such great news all around! Thrilled for you!

  6. Flygirl555 said

    Congrats on graduating from the first trimester (she says holding up a cranberry and club soda)! Lots to celebrate!

  7. LisainSK said

    Whoo hooo!! Welcome to the 2nd tri!! Your nausea sounds identical to mine…mostly bad in the evenings. And now that I am nearly 23 weeks I STILL have to eat PROMPTLY otherwise I’ll be very sick. So my purse is packed with snacks everywhere I go. I now buy groceries every week as I am eating constantly (all day and night). And don’t you love online/mail order shopping! It rocks! And congrats on the new job!! So glad you are soo happy. You deserve it!

  8. Josey said

    So happy that things are falling into place for you and that you’re already at 12 weeks. Fun!!!!!

  9. Running_girl said

    Congrats! We are about to order the same stroller in the green color. I’ve heard so many good things about it!

  10. 73goldie said

    Congrats on reaching 12 weeks!!!! I hope you can begin to enjoy your pregnancy after your next ultrasound. I bet it will be weird, but good to not have to take any pills. I’m so tired of taking pills for this and that!

  11. Cassie said

    I’m so excited that things are going so great for you! Congrats on this huge milestone.

  12. Celines Sims said

    I bet that baby aspirin never tasted so good! I am so thrilled for you. What a sense of calmness you must feel now.

  13. Deana said

    So glad things continue to go well, and I know you will have a great appointment today! Maybe you will find out the sexes! That’s when I found out the sex – at the 12 week NT scan. I also have a retroverted uterus and haven’t had a problem picking up the heartbeat on the doppler… I couldn’t live without it right now. How exciting that your baby furniture is in! That makes it seem so real I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

 
