My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

First Cervical Check (17w5d)

Posted by auntiem10 on April 28, 2011

Today I had my first cervical check at my peri’s office, and everything went perfectly. The u/s tech first checked out both babies, measured their heartbeats (both 156 bpm), and assessed their amniotic fluid. Things could not have looked any better, thank goodness. Both babies were waving and wiggling around, and we even saw Baby B yawn. We also got official confirmation that Baby B is definitely also a girl. A few weeks ago, we weren’t able to get a shot of the goods, but we got a great shot today. We’re excited!

Next the doctor came in for the cervical check. They measured my cervix twice, and the first measurement was above 3.5 cm, and the second measurement was exactly 4cm. Perfect. The doctor said any measurement about 3cm is wonderful, and they start to get concerned when the measurement is below 2.5cm. Yay for my cervix! : ) They will check this measurement bi-weekly until either 24 weeks or 26 weeks (depending on which doctor is making the decision), and then they don’t check anymore. The next cervical check will be on May 10th during our anatomy scan.

Once the ultrasound was done, I drank the gestational diabetes Glucola solution. The flavor was orange, and it just tasted to me like orange soda. I had to wait one hour before going to the lab to have my blood drawn. The lab is also testing my thyroid levels to make sure they’re not fluctuating with pregnancy. I should have the results on Monday or so.

I received a little bit of a lecture about my weight because today it was up SEVEN pounds since my last appointment on April 15th–less than two weeks ago! I’m up about 10 lbs now, apparently. I honestly think some of the gain had to do with the fact that I had a 4pm appointment (and my last weight check was at 8:15 a.m.), and my weight fluctuates during the day. I also drank a lot of water today and grabbed a late lunch on my way to the doctor. But some of it was probably junk food (consumed during bouts of nausea) catching up with me. My doctor wants me to gain the majority of weight in the last trimester, so I need to cool it for now. I will have to make better decisions about what I’m chowing down on until my next appointment in May.

Despite this promise to eat better, I fully intend to buy a small amount of Ben & Jerry’s “Half Baked” ice cream and enjoy it on Saturday when I hit 18 weeks. : ) In a perfect world, I’ll make it even further than 36 weeks, but that week is my primary goal. And I can’t believe I’m practically halfway there! I’m so lucky, and please don’t even think I am taking a single moment for granted.

5 Responses to “First Cervical Check (17w5d)”

  1. Littlediiorios said

    Loved you post and hearing about your little girls…so nice. And enjoy that ice cream! And thanks for your email !!

  2. LisainSK said

    Hey Em…so glad all is going well!

  3. PBJmom said

    I’m so happy that everything is going so well. I also experienced that with my weight–I would weigh about 2-3 lbs heavier in the afternoon vs. am.

  4. aworre said

    Hi auntiem, just wanted to drop a quick comment and ask if you’d read Dr. Barbara Luke’s book When You’re Expecting Twins, Triplets or More? Her theories about weight gain make a lot of sense and I followed her advice which basically says gain a lot of weight in the first half of the pregnancy rather than wait until the end. By my week 30 my insides were so full of babies there was just no way for me to consume enough calories to nourish them, so I was glad I had built up that extra store early on. I delivered two “big” twin boys at 5.13 and 6.6 at 36 weeks and we never even saw the NICU. I would recommend the book, even though it’s controversial, then you can decide for yourself. Let me know if you want to chat more about it, and good luck with the rest of your pregnancy. I’m glad to see it’s going so well!

  5. Maggie said

    How exciting – 2 girls!!!! Now, you don’t have the boy name problem 🙂 We still can’t decide!!

    I also wanted to mention the Dr. Luke book – about the weight gain early on. I am now 30 weeks and I am eating about 1/2 as much as I was b/c I can’t fit it……so enjoy all that food now!!! At 20 weeks I had only gained 15 lbs and got a lecture it wasn’t enough! So, I started the protein shakes at nights and really made an effort. And my babies are measuring big – and I am soo happy!

    Glad everything is going so well!!! Just today I was telling someone how amazing CCRM is…..I am so thankful!!

Leave a Reply

 
