My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Half-Baked! (18 weeks)

Posted by auntiem10 on April 30, 2011

We are shooting for 36 weeks gestation before delivering these babies, so today they are officially half-baked! The hubby bought me some themed ice cream to celebrate. : )

Luckily, the gestational diabetes test I took on Thursday was negative, so I can enjoy this treat without guilt. It is delicious!

Yesterday morning at work, I was in a meeting when I rotated my body to sit in a chair and felt my left kneecap dislocate. Ouch! I’ve battled this problem for years with my right kneecap (and undergone three knee surgeries), so instinctively I hyperextended my left leg to pop my kneecap back in place. I didn’t want to cause a scene in front of the 70+ people in the meeting, so I sat through the remainder of the meeting knowing that I wasn’t going to be able to bear weight on my knee. I ended up having to go to the hospital in an ambulance for x-rays–humiliating! My hubby called my aunt (a former x-ray technician) for advice on how to keep the babies as safe as possible from radiation. The x-rays showed that I had torn a blood vessel in my knee, so I’m on crutches until the massive swelling goes down. My hubby had planned a guys’ trip with two of his friends and was due to leave this morning, and I feel awful that he had to cancel to take care of me. We are both just thankful that this health issue had nothing to do with the babies… the nurse found both heartbeats in the ER, and luckily I didn’t fall down or do anything to negatively impact their health. My knees suck!

6 Responses to “Half-Baked! (18 weeks)”

  1. Josey said

    Yikes, I’m glad that overall you and the babies are okay!!!

  2. R said

    Congrats on being half baked! Ouch for your knee.

  3. Littlediiorios said

    So happy about the twins…I’m sure they liked the ice-cream as much as you did! Too bad about your knee…yikes…I hope it heals fast for you…and about your hubby staying…everything happens for a reason. He just wasn’t meant to go. Take care of yourself!

  4. LC1 said

    Congrats on being “half-baked”. What a cute idea to get the ice cream to celebrate! Yum!!
    Hope your knee gets well soon!!!

  5. Krista said

    I still love reading your blog. Thanks for sharing the info regarding your cancelled cycle protocol. I emailed that to my nurse finally so we shall see what happens.

  6. Hi there, always i used to check weblog posts
    here in the early hours in the dawn, as i love to gain knowledge of more and
    more.

Leave a Reply

 
