My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Viability Day! (24 Weeks)

Posted by auntiem10 on June 11, 2011

We can’t believe we are celebrating Viability Day today! At 24 weeks, babies have a chance of survival outside of the womb, and generally hospital personnel will pull out all the stops to save preemies. I’m thanking my lucky stars that we have made it this far with no problems. My morning sickness is finally gone, and I’m on bedrest due to my accident, which is pretty much also the best thing for the babies right now. I’ve had swollen ankles since about 19 weeks, but my blood pressure continues to be very good, so no one is worried about it.

I am regaining strength in my body. It’s been 2.5 weeks since my accident, so my broken bones are probably about 1/3 of the way healed. I attended a post-surgical appointment at my orthopedist’s office on Wednesday, and it was decided that I need to wear a plaster cast until the 23rd. At that time, my staples should be removed (I have 28 of them!), and I should receive an immobilizer-type brace to wear for a period of time as my leg continues healing. The cast means I’m still pretty much bedridden–I have stood a little bit with the aid of a walker during physical therapy at my house, but I can’t walk. Still sleeping on the hospital bed, and still using the bedside commode. Counting down the days until my next appointment so I can start regaining some independence. My hubby borrowed a twin bed from his parents and set it up next to my hospital bed so we could have a slumber party in our living room last night. That really lifted my spirits.

After the ortho appointment, we had a growth ultrasound at our peri’s office. Both babies look great! Baby A is estimated to weigh 1 lb 9 oz, and Baby B is estimated to weigh 1 lb 7 oz. Both had great heart rates, fluid levels, etc. The ultrasound tech was very pleased with how well they are growing, and seeing them was exactly what I needed to cheer up a little. Because I need time to heal, we won’t go back until four weeks from now, in our 27th week. The babies have really been moving this week, on both sides, and it’s the most reassuring feeling I can possibly imagine. We can even feel the kicks from the outside now! I feel so fortunate.

Our baby shower is next weekend! I am so excited. Then my MIL and SILs are hosting another baby shower for us locally three weeks after that. I can’t wait to celebrate these babies with my closest friends and family. It’s still so surreal that it’s happening! I regret the fact that I’ll be in a wheelchair, but everyone keeps reminding me that I’ll have a story to tell our daughters someday. I’m just going to go and make the best of it! I am so lucky to be celebrating this occasion, and I haven’t forgotten it for a minute.

6 Responses to “Viability Day! (24 Weeks)”

  1. mytwolines said

    Congrats on this milestone! And have a great shower!

  2. R said

    Yay! So glad you are feeling better and the babies are doing so well!!!

  3. LisainSK said

    Can I just say my heart melted on the slumberparty idea your DH came up with?!! What a SWEETIE!! You sound like you are in awesome spirits…as usual! Such a trooper you are. Can’t wait to hear all about your showers! And congrats on Viability Day! A milestone to be celebrated indeed!

  4. LisainSK said

    What the? Ugh…I hate it when technology eats your comment. YOUR DH….SWEETIE!! Awesome idea on the slumber party idea! You sound like such a trooper! And congrats on VD…definitely a milestone to be celebrated! Can’t wait to hear about your showers…

  5. Cassie said

    I’m so sorry to read about your nasty fall! That is really unbelievable. I’m glad that you are doing much better already and that your DH is taking such good care of you. And most of all, I’m glad that the little ones are doing so well. Hang in there and you’ll get to meet them soon (but not too soon!). Enjoy your shower!

  6. I love your updates! Time is flying by!! Glad you are healing – keep resting. Your DH sounds soo sweet 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
