My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

36 Weeks!!!

Posted by auntiem10 on September 3, 2011

Today marks a big milestone: 36 weeks!

Yesterday we went back to the peri’s office for our third-to-last NST. Only two more to go! Everything looked great. Both babies passed with flying colors. My blood pressure was 130/101 the first check, but after resting on my side for a few minutes, it went down to 120/80. Good enough to satisfy the peri on duty, so we were sent on our way.

Next we had a limited ultrasound. They basically just measure heart rates, fluid levels, and cord doppler readings. The heart rates were 141 and 138 beats per minute, the fluid levels were both over 4 (anything above 3 with twins is considered wonderful by my practice’s doctors), and the cord doppler readings were perfect. The babies are very hard to see on the monitor now because their bones have hardened, so the pictures we take home are fewer and fewer.

And with that, our appointment was over. We will return on Tuesday for our next-to-last NST and our last office visit. Yippee!

Now that these babies are so big, I am feeling miserable. I will just admit it, and I hate myself for typing it because I always said I would never complain about carrying babies in my body. I had no idea how uncomfortable it could be to carry around two 7ish lb babies. I feel like I’m trapped in my body at this point. Our scheduled c-section is 10 days away, so there is an end in sight. However, I can’t imagine making it through the days until then! My dad joked with me on the phone this morning that the reason I’m not showing any signs of labor is that I’m getting my money’s worth out of this pregnancy. : ) I guess he is right, and I’m so grateful the babies are thriving in my womb. But during the days and nights, my hips ache, my back throbs, my hips and pelvis pop and make me feel afraid of a dislocation, I’m up constantly to pee, I need a daily nap, I’m short of breath at times and have no stamina, and I feel extremely overemotional. Rolling over in bed is an Olympic feat. All not-so-fun things, but I need to remember that soon it will be a distant memory and that I’m lucky to have fallen on the right side of the odds. I am really ready to move onto the next phase of life and hope that my water breaks before the 13th! When I do feel discouraged, I review my blog posts from a year ago. Back then, I would have given anything to be in my shoes now, and I need to remember that. A year ago today, I was receiving yet another CCRM calendar and hoping that we would finally get to go to Denver and try to make our dreams come true. And, aches and pains and all, here we are a year later expecting two miracles in a week and a half. Amazing.

Thanks for hanging in there with me and reading my whining!

5 Responses to “36 Weeks!!!”

  1. R said

    I know the discomfort you feel, but like you said, it will all be worth it when your daughters are here. It won’t be long now.

  2. Littlediiorios said

    I cant imagine the discomfort….and no need to worry about stating reality…you are uncomfortable and ready. can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. Pie said

    Hooray for 36 weeks – truly a great accomplishment! I can only begin to imagine the discomfort you feel- just one 8 and a half pound baby was enough to get me whining all the time! Hang in there, you are almost done, and remember that much of the discomfort you feel now will be instantly gone the minute those cute little ones are born. Granted, you’ll have different discomforts, but you’ll also have babies, so it is much more bearable!!

  4. Wishing and Waiting said

    I can only imagine what you’re going through. I am only 20 weeks with my twins and I am already having hip pain and rolling over in bed is indescribable. I am also short of breath and times, sometimes swollen, but I know this is worth it. Best wishes for you and I can’t wait for your babies to get here. I am confident they will be going home with you and won’t need NICU. I’ll definitely be following you

  5. LisainSK said

    Oh how I hope your water breaks before the 13th as well…hang in there!!! You’re sliding into home plate!!

Leave a Reply

 
