My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

36w3d: The Final Stretch!

Posted by auntiem10 on September 6, 2011

One week from today (or hopefully sooner!), we’ll welcome our girls into the world! For the past week, they have been moving around in my belly like aliens, especially in the evenings. This morning, for the first time ever, they had the hiccups at the same time. This sensation to me feels like someone is tapping on my insides every few seconds. So I was sitting in a work meeting, feeling tap-tap on the left (Baby B), tap-tap on the right (Baby A), tap-tap on the left, tap-tap on the right, then tap-tap on both sides at the same time. What a weird (and distracting!) feeling! I’m sure I had a stupid smile on my face throughout the meeting because I was just so amazed at what I was feeling inside of my body. : ) And all morning, they’ve been fluttering around inside and letting me know that they are awake and hanging out in there. Amazing.

Today is our next-to-last NST. The hospital we chose is 45 minutes from our house and in an area of the city with heavy and confusing traffic, so we are both excited to be almost done with all of these appointments. We selected the hospital because they have the best NICU in our area, which thankfully now we probably won’t even need to use. Thank goodness!

Once again, we packed our suitcase in our trunk, just in case. I am so ready to meet these girls and hope that circumstances occur that speed up delivery to this week. Waiting through another weekend is going to drive me bonkers! But of course, we only have a week left at worst-case scenario, and our primary concern is that the babies have every advantage to be healthy. If that means waiting a few extra days until the 13th, then so be it. I am just being impatient because after starting this journey with the ODWU on April 7, 2010 and making our way through IVF, CCS testing, Depot Lupron treatment, FET prep, and then the FET, I am READY!!! I want to hold these babies and not just feel them on the inside. I want to assume the role of Mom and protect them and love them with every fiber of my being. And now that this reality is so close to my grasp, I am having a hard time staying patient!

Life is never, ever going to be the same. And it’s not going to be about just my hubby and I anymore. And you know what? That is absolutely fine with us. Our dreams are coming true.

4 Responses to “36w3d: The Final Stretch!”

  1. Josey said

    🙂 So so so happy for you Em. 🙂

  2. Pie said

    You sound very ready – and those girls sound strong and ready too. I am so happy for you, it has been a long journey!!

  3. siera said

    I am so happy that your going to meet your girls. My aunt told me a saying that my grandma would’ve said to me had she lived to see me beome a mom and I think of it now. “Don’t wish away the time, as you won’t ever get it back.” When I look back now, I complained so much when I was pregnant and I really had no reason to. I now miss being pregnant, I miss the hiccups, and I miss my baby (3 YO) being a baby. I am not certain that I will ever have another one so I wish that I had relished in it more. I do love your nursery! Looks great and I love the names you’ve picked out too!

  4. Sue said

    I am so excited for you! It really will never be the same, but just wait until you look into those little, beautiful eyes! I have tears thinking about it (and remembering how I felt after all of that, having DD). It is the most AMAZING thing! Hugs! ~Yogagrrl from IVFC

Leave a Reply

 
