My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

16 Days Old

Posted by auntiem10 on September 29, 2011

The past few days have been really, really hard. Our Baby A, who was born with clubbed feet, received the first in a series of casts at the local children’s hospital yesterday. She is totally miserable… won’t sleep unless we are holding her despite the fact that she’s obviously exhausted, cries whenever we handle her no matter how gentle we try to be, and just acts like the casts are the most uncomfortable things in the world. I spent this morning crying and contacting both her pediatrician and orthopedist to see whether anything can be done to make her  more comfortable. The verdict was to see how she does today, and then bring her to the children’s hospital in the morning if things are still bad. They will remove her casts, examine her to make sure nothing is rubbing her skin and that she’s having no reactions, and then recast her. This is going to make her hysterical, so we have to decide if it will be worth it. Last night we split time in our recliner holding her so she would sleep a little. I hope for her sake that tonight is better… it can’t be healthy for a 16-day old newborn to be unable to sleep more than five minutes at a time.

I am learning all about mom guilt… I feel so incredibly awful that she is uncomfortable and that there’s nothing I can do about it. We’re not allowed to give her Tylenol to try to help her because it may end up masking another problem, and the casts are unfortunately a necessary evil. I would give anything to take the discomfort away… no newborn should have to deal with this! I realize that some newborns out there deal with so many worse medical problems, but you can’t blame me for wanting to take away my child’s pain, no matter how minor the situation may be. Everyone keeps trying to comfort me by reminding me that she won’t remember any of this… I do not feel comforted because it doesn’t change the fact that she has to deal with the discomfort right now. Although I wouldn’t want time to speed up because I’m enjoying every minute of getting to know our babies, I am counting down the hours until this casting business is over.

Things are going well otherwise… our babies are starting to gain back some of the weight they lost after birth, and they are keeping us on our toes. We are so busy, I haven’t had much time to comment on all my friends’ blogs or stay caught up. I am sorry! I’m lucky to shower every other day and fit in a meal or two per day right now, and that’s even with the help of my husband being at home with me full-time until November. I’m hoping to catch up soon and am reading along as much as I can. Thinking of you all!

7 Responses to “16 Days Old”

  1. Mo said

    oh how difficult! hoping she finds the casts more comfortable as the days go by and that you get a little peace of mind from worrying about her. hang in there! thinking of you.

    Mo

  2. Josey said

    Poor Baby A 😦 I’m so sorry to hear that she’s so uncomfortable. Hopefully things take a turn for the better soon!

  3. LisainSK said

    Oh that sounds soo soooo rough Em…you have every right to cry. Just reading about your LO makes me want to cry! How long does she have to wear the cast? Right now is all about survival. But I promise…it gets better.

  4. Flygirl555 said

    Glad you found a few minutes to keep us all up- to-date. I hope the doctors can think “out-of-the-box” to find a solution to make Baby A more comfortable. Clearly, you love your girls more than life itself.

  5. Sue said

    That must be so hard! I know, every discomfort is magnified when it is your child going through it. This would have broken my heart too. I hope she gets used to them or they find out what is causing the discomfort. Hugs!

  6. Wishing and Waiting said

    I am just reading this today and I hope she is better by now. I will continue to pray for her comfort. I hope she does well with the casts and that wearing them gets better with time. Hugs to you. Glad you found time to keep us informed, but we surely understand how busy you are

  7. run4funia@aol.com said

    Poor little one. I am sure you would do anything to take away the pain. I hope things start getting better for her. I can’t imagine how busy you must be with 2. Hang in there, it will get better with time.

Leave a Reply

 
