My CCRM IVF Journey

Our successful journey through IVF #2 at one of the world's top fertility clinics

Archive for September 26th, 2010

Staying the Same

Posted by auntiem10 on September 26, 2010

Last night I didn’t sleep well–a combination of being away from home and my hubby and my dogs, hearing too many noises around my room, and feeling hot. So after I wrote my last post, I rested in bed and fell into a pretty deep sleep. About 30 minutes ago, the nurse called, and I answered it even though I wasn’t really awake yet. I felt so groggy and spacey, but I managed to comprehend that I’m supposed to stay on the same dose for tonight and tomorrow. My next scan and bloodwork will take place on Tuesday morning.

So on Sunday and Monday, I’ll take: Synthroid, Antibiotic, Prenatal, 2 vials Menopur, 150iu Follistim, 5 units lupron, Antibiotic, Dexamethasone.

I’m choosing not to specifically ask for my estradiol level for this IVF cycle. Last year my estradiol increased dramatically, and it caused me a lot of anxiety. If the nurse volunteers this information, then I’ll report it on here; otherwise, I’m just not going to worry about it.

Posted in Dosage instructions, IVF Take Two, Testing | 3 Comments »

Eggmaker

Posted by auntiem10 on September 26, 2010

This morning I dragged myself out of bed (it’s amazing how wiped out one can be after a long drive) and headed to CCRM for my first follicle scan and bloodwork.

I snuck in my camera and snapped a couple of photos…

Here is one angle of one of the monitoring rooms.

Directly across from the bed is a TV monitor on which you can see everything on the u/s screen.

Here is a quick photo of one of the little consultation rooms in the main hallway, where you meet with your nurse to discuss your cycle.

My follicle scan went really well. The u/s tech saw about 19 eggs this morning!!! I can’t believe it, since I haven’t been feeling much of anything in that region. She measured the largest eight follicles, all of which are 9 or 10mm. She told me that is a little ahead of schedule; they would normally expect the lead follicles to be about 8mm by the fourth day of stimming. The other 11 follicles were smaller and weren’t measured, but they could still stimulate and catch up. My antral follicle count was 19-21 in April at our ODWU, so these results are right in line with what I expected. The nurse cautioned me to drink tons of water because she thinks I may overstim, so that is something we will have to watch.

After my u/s, I had my blood drawn. I won’t receive those results until later this afternoon or early this evening. The nurse said she doesn’t expect any of my dosages to change, so we will see how it pans out.

I picked up a few things at the grocery store and am now back at the hotel. I’m not sure what I’m going to do today. There’s not a cloud in the sky and the high is 88 degrees, so I may find a park and wander around. I also might sit by the pool and read one of the many magazines I brought, or drive to Barnes & Noble to find a book. Tomorrow I am meeting a fellow CCRMer for lunch, and I’m excited for that! : )

On the way back to the hotel, I snapped a few pics of the mountains while stopping at stop lights. They are so pretty!

Posted in CCRM Pictures, Denver area, Follicle Scans, IVF Take Two | 7 Comments »